A story in three parts, in which the three parts have absolutely nothing to do with each other

Part I-The part in which I buzz

This week has been crazy busy at work. We’re a little short staffed at the moment and there have been lots of projects either at the precious ‘beginning’ stage or at the equally important ‘finishing’ stage. It’s the type of busy that makes you crazy but not in a ‘I hate this’ way, more in a ‘OMG this is so busy but it’s all so awesome and look how much we’re kicking ass’ sort of way.

Today, was especially busy. Today, I was so busy that I felt as though all of my internal organs were buzzing, as if they were busy right along with me. It’s that hum that happens when you’re just on the brink of panic but you have too much of an optimistic outlook to fall into the abyss of crazy meltdowns. It’s what drinking 8 cups of coffee feels like, but without the coffee.

Part II-The part in which I get frustrated

My resentment towards not having a blog name is growing at an alarming rate. I feel like a poseur in the blogging world; like I’m faking it.

But I’m still not ready to pick a name. It’s a big decision. I want to pick something that will stick, something that is clever and witty but without looking like I tried too hard. I want a name that will grow with me but isn’t too broad and open. I want a name that people remember but not in a way that’s overly stand-out-ish.

I am open to suggestions, however I am not open to suggestions that include the words ‘Claire-ity’ or ‘Claire-ification’.

Part III-The part in which I give up on domestic perfection

The Boyfriend’s ENTIRE family is coming the weekend. We’re talking his ENTIRE EXTENDED family. They are using our apartment as a jumping off point on their way to a place that has hills reasonably sized enough for skiing.

They will only be here on Friday night and will be leaving early Saturday morning. I’m actually sort of excited for them to see our place and we’re going out for dinner and I’m always up for eating out. However, I have decided not to stress about this. I will not go into a cleaning, cooking, decorating, oh-my-god-I-might-not-have-enough-towels-for-everyone-to-have-one-for-their-body-and-one-for-their-hair-in-coordinating-colours frenzy a la my mother.

What I will do is make cinnamon buns Saturday morning (hi Pilsbury!) and go back to bed once they’ve left.

Appendix to Part III

In other news, I lied when I said The Boyfriend’s entire extended family is coming. It’s just his father, uncle and cousins. But he has a small family so this is a fair sized portion of them.

7 Responses to “A story in three parts, in which the three parts have absolutely nothing to do with each other”


  1. 1 imerika February 22, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    my mother also goes absolutely nuts when we have company and i have vowed i will never turn into her in the regard of going crazy about cleaning, etc…

    i WILL hire a housekeeper–even if just for the day : )

  2. 2 LiLu February 22, 2010 at 9:31 am

    I personally think [insert title here] is kind of a cool blog name. 😉

  3. 3 bevchen February 21, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    Cute bee 🙂

    Cinammon buns sound delicious.

  4. 4 ria February 20, 2010 at 10:54 am

    good luck with the boyfriends extended family 🙂

  5. 5 Erin February 18, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    I liked my name pun ideas thank you very much.

    • 6 clairesuzanne February 19, 2010 at 7:35 am

      Indeed I liked them too! That’s why I’m saving them for something bigger than this blog…..like my book! When I write my memoirs, I will call them Claire-ity and Claire-ification, sort of like Pride and Prejudice, but better!

      I promise!


  1. 1 The towels didn’t match, but everything else was spectacular (in a normal, low-key kind of way) « To be determined Trackback on February 22, 2010 at 8:54 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.