I accidentaly watched a romantic comedy on Valentine’s Day

I am neither a Valentine’s Day lover or a Valentine’s Day hater. I know a lot of people feel very strongly about this holiday/occasion/day from hell (I’m giving you lots of options, depending on your current state of mind), but I have never really been that into it either in a pro or anti kind of way.

I have memories of waking up to find chocolate and treats for me on the kitchen table from my mom when I was little. I have memories of making a boyfriend pink and red cupcakes in school, proud of my culinary success. I also have memories of joining in on an anti-Valentine’s Day party in university where we sang inappropriate songs about anything and everything but love at the tops of our lungs. Nine Inch Nails and Rage Against the Machine featured heavily that evening.

With a background filled with so much indifference, I was not exactly disappointed with my lack of plans for the day. When I woke up with a sore throat and runny nose, I was down-right relieved and excited that all I had planned was a day on the couch.

Eventually Olympic watching lost its lustre (we’d been watching it, via online streaming, for 2 days straight at this point) and the boyfriend and I emerged from our self-imposed hermitism to go rent a movie.

Now, I know what you’re thinking, we went to find a sweet romantic comedy. But that was not the case. I am not a big fan of romantic comedies. I would much rather watch an action movie than a Hugh Grant flick. In fact, I’d take a war movie over a jaunty Will Smith. Romantic comedies just aren’t my style (but there are a few exceptions).

We sought out ‘The Invention of Lying.’ You see, it stars Ricky Gervais and for those unaware, Ricky Gervais created the original British The Office and the hilarious British television show Extras.

If you find the plain, old ‘North American’ The Office awkward and difficult to watch at times (as I do), there is no way you will be able to sit through an episode of Extras without squirming (also, as I do). The show’s premise is that the lead character, Andy Millman (played by Gervais) is a struggling actor who gets a lot of rolls as extras in big movies. In the course of each episode, you meet a star who plays a really strange version of themselves. The show has featured Kate Winslet, Chris Martin, David Bowie, Ben Stiller, Orlando Bloom and the list goes on.

My favourite guest appearance is by Daniel Radcliff. Check out the clip below if you are a) not at work; b) are not easily offended; and c) if you fricken LOVE Harry Potter

With this in mind, I was expecting The Invention of Lying to be funny as all get out and if not equally awkward as Extras, at least featuring one gut-turning ‘oh-my-god-I’m-so-embarrassed-for-you’ moment.

Apparently, The Invention of Lying is a romantic comedy. Who knew? Not me. I suppose Jennifer Gardner should have clued me in but she was overshadowed by Gervais in my mind’s eye and I just didn’t put it all together.

So we watched a romantic comedy on Valentine’s Day. It was not planned nor welcome, but it happened. Fortunately, the movie itself was greatly overshadowed by my couch-lying, kleenex-wielding performance throughout the day, so I’m not going to stress about it.

2 Responses to “I accidentaly watched a romantic comedy on Valentine’s Day”


  1. 1 Erin February 16, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    Was it at least good?


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


