60 years together

My family celebrated my grandparents 60th anniversary this past weekend.

I’ll give you a minute to let that sink in:

60 years

Are you there yet? Comprehended how many years – how many DECADES – that is devoted to the same person. That’s 10 years more than double my entire lifetime!

To celebrate, my grandparents and their 6 children and their 6 spouses did a tour of our hometown stopping at each and every place my grandparents have lived in. My grandparents moved to my small hometown right after they married. They chose it almost arbitrarily as it was a central location for my grandfather’s job with the railroad.

It’s insane for me to think that they chose this town for nothing more than the convenience of its location when the town has become so much more to our family. Both of my grandparents were heavily involved in the community; my grandpa was on the school board and my grandma was once named “Mother of the Year” in the local paper. Today, a lot of my family still live in this small town and they are all involved in the community. My cousin coaches a hockey team, another cousin referees soccer and my aunt has been an integral part of the Relay for Life event held every year. For those that don’t live in town, myself included, we still visit as often as possible and keep up with the news through the rest of the family.

As a town that means so much to my family, it’s hard to imagine a time when we weren’t a big part of its history. But, it seems that time exists and my grandparents have just built their lives in a way that most people don’t remember it.

After the tour of their past homes, the “grown ups” joined the grandkids for dessert and celebration (I say grown ups because a good portion of my grandparents’ 16 grandkids are adults now). We sat around eating cake and talking about the past 60 years. My aunt brought a large box full of newspaper clippings. Apparently, my grandma has saved every newspaper photo and article that featured anyone in the family and quite a few that featured others not in the family. She had even saved clippings of my aunt before she had even started dating my uncle and become part of the family – it’s like my grandma KNEW!

I saw the newspaper photo of my mom in the prom court and read my parents’ wedding announcement. My brother’s hockey tournaments were all there along with my sister’s skating competition wins. I read my birth announcement and the article that the local paper ran about the play I was a part of in Grade 4 (I played Jiminy Cricket in an adaptation of Pinocchio).

It was really cool to be able to go through these old memories, some of my own and many of them not, with the rest of my family. But, it made me wonder, what will I sift through with my grandkids on my 60th wedding anniversary?

We live in an age of blogs and Twitter and YouTube and self-publishing. It’s cool to think of what it will be like to revisit these mediums of record with the next generation. Will we be trolling the Library of Congress‘ database to find tweets I sent? Will my grandkids one day read this exact post? Heaven forbid will they read something else I wrote that’s less-than-impressive and slightly embarrassing?

Thinking too hard about this may make me reconsider that tweet I sent about my solution to cleaning chocolate chips off the couch. But, I don’t plan to think too hard about it and just enjoy the idea of following my grandparents’ example and spending 60 years with someone I love.

4 Responses to “60 years together”


  1. 1 Erin April 21, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    60 years is incredible!
    Also, that link to your Twilight blog post reminded me that you’re probably going to cut me for giving you other book series’ that suck you in and hook you.

  2. 2 Chica April 21, 2011 at 8:19 am

    Congrats to your grandparents! It’s an amazing milestone. Think about how rare this kind of occasion will be now that most people marry later in life, too.

    Also, I don’t like to think of my blog as some sort of legacy – too many skeletons are on it instead of in the closet!

  3. 3 Amber from Girl with the Red Hair April 9, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    Amazing!! What great role models you have to look up to in the relationship department, too!

    I think that touring the town and looking at every house they’ve ever lived in sounds like the PERFECT way to spend the day!

  4. 4 ria April 7, 2011 at 9:56 am

    wow that is amazing. happy anniversary to them!


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


