Planning for vacation is *almost* as much fun as the vacation itself

The days are booked off and the flights are paid for. It’s official, Matt and I are finally getting a chance to travel together.

Matt and I both love to travel and we’ve been very fortunate to have a lot of opportunities to do so. But, we’ve never had an opportunity to travel overseas together.

In fact, for the first year of our relationship, we were both so good at traveling on our own that we spent 6 of those 12 months apart. I spent 4 months in India and he spent 2 months gallivanting around Europe.

But, it seems after 6 years together, our time has come to upgrade our road trips and camping adventures to a vacation involving an airplane! We’re off to the UK in June and I couldn’t be more excited. We haven’t solidified our plans beyond the flights, but we are tentatively planning some time in London and then we are probably going to head to the Scottish highlands.

London is Matt’s favourite city of all time. He has visited a number of time with his family and on his own and he is super excited to be going back. I’ve never been to London and I’m really looking forward to him showing me around.

As for the Scottish Highlands, we kind-of, sort-of arbitrarily chose this area of the UK because of this:

{via}

Why, yes. That is indeed the Hogwarts Express from Harry Potter. It’s a real steam train ride you can take through the Scottish highlands and it is supposed to be breathtaking.

We haven’t totally settled on the plan to go to the Highlands to take this train, but it’s pretty high on the list of things to do. This itinerary would also give us an opportunity to hike Ben Nevis, the highest point in the UK. That hike would be totally reasonable and not exhausting or terrifying at all.

{via}

Whether we stick to the Scottish Highland plans or head off to Wales or Ireland, I don’t think it really matters. Whatever we decide to do will be awesome. But, if you have any suggestions of places to go in the UK, send ’em my way!

6 Responses to “Planning for vacation is *almost* as much fun as the vacation itself”


  1. 1 Erin April 21, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    I am going to come in your suitcase. I hope you don’t like clothes.

  2. 2 Chica April 21, 2011 at 8:23 am

    Fabulous that you are coming to the UK! I hope you blog all about your trip. A whistle-stop tour of England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland sounds mega-fun, how long do you have? Edinburgh is a brilliant city with so much to do, you should definitely try to squeeze it in to your itinerary. Let me know what cities you plan to visit and I will try to offer some tips!

  3. 3 michelle April 1, 2011 at 11:21 am

    definitely go on the hogwarts express. just so i can live vicariously through you

  4. 4 ria April 1, 2011 at 10:26 am

    it’s going to be amazing and i am SO excited for you!! i’ll let you know how my ireland trip is, maybe you’ll go there too 🙂

  5. 6 Jennifer March 30, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    You are correct!
    Sounds like a fun trip!

    Choose Happiness & Success!
    Jennifer


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


