Let’s try this again

I had an adventure today.

This past week was a big fat disappointment in the realm of Mother Nature. She had us all excited for spring and the first flowers were beginning to come up and the snow was all gone and then BAM! we were whomped with another blizzard. It snowed and snowed and snowed some more while everyone double checked their calendars to confirm that it is indeed the end of MARCH and not, I don’t know… FEBRUARY. Apparently, Mother Nature lost her calendar. Or, maybe there was just an especially attractive Mr. February and she never switched over to the less-than-stellar-Mr. March.

If this was the case, I completely understand her hesitation.

Regardless of what Mother Nature was thinking, we had snow and it was (hopefully) the last snow of the season. Instead of moaning and begrudging this climate conundrum (as I had complained plenty throughout the week on such subject), I went tobogganing.

I think if more adults went tobogganing, they would have a lot more respect for children.

Here are a few things I noticed on this toboggan adventure:

  • Holy crap it’s scary. It was never that scary as a kid. You are hurtling your body down a slope with nothing but a flimsy piece of plastic between you and the hard, icy ground. There are so many opportunities for disaster, it’s shocking there aren’t more toboggan-induced deaths throughout the winter.
  • Getting up the hill is WAY harder when you’re an adult. Kids seem to fly to the top of the hill as if all of the sugary hot cocoa they’ve been drinking has magically given them wings. Adults, on the other hand, slowly trudge up the hill huffing and puffing and regretting that sugary hot cocoa they drank because having it sit in your stomach is only adding more weight to your load.
  • Snow is not nearly as thirst quenching when you’re an adult who just conquered the Snow Mountain of Doom and Terror as it was when you’ve just had the fastest, bestest slide of the entire day.

Despite all of this – perhaps because all of this – tobogganing as an adult is just as fun (or more so) than it was as a kid.

P.S. I know it’s been 6 months since I’ve posted. I decided to take a bit of a break but I think I’m ready to come back to the blogging world now. I may not post as frequently as I did a year ago, but the time feels right to start writing again so, let’s try this again.

2 Responses to “Let’s try this again”


  1. 1 michelle April 1, 2011 at 11:19 am

    i second erin 🙂

  2. 2 Erin March 28, 2011 at 12:34 am

    Heh, I agree with mother nature’s opinion on Mr February. It could snow all it wanted if he was readily available. 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


