Cuttin’ it up on the dance floor

This post is long overdue. Sometimes I feel like the internet moves too fast, as if this post is pointless because many of the events it’s centerd around happened 1-2 weeks ago. TWO WEEKS. That’s like a millennium in the internets. But, I’m going to write about it anyway because I was there and in reality, I could lie to you all and say it happened yesterday.

So, yesterday was my brother’s stag and doe. For those unaware, a stag and doe (aka: a Jack and Jill or a Buck and Doe) is a pre-wedding party. The goal of the party is to raise money to help the bride and groom pay for the wedding. I know that may sound crass but that’s how we roll in rural Ontario and no one’s going to get upset about a rockin’ party, no matter the reason behind it.

My bro’s stag and doe was no exception. Surrounded by family, friends and people I just met, we all drank and danced and fun was had by all – too much fun in my case. I don’t know why, but often when I’m with my family I forget my limits when it comes to alcohol. I think it may be the security in knowing that with my mom, my dad, my grandparents, 10 aunts, 10 uncles and 15 cousins surrounding me, someone will get me home in one piece.

And I did get home in one piece. But, not before I did my fair share of jello shots, danced with my grandpa, shimmied with my aunt, played electric guitar with my cousin and watched my friends do the same. My family loves to dance! We’re not necessarily good dancers (although my grandpa has some moves!) but we do it anyway. It’s one of my favourite things about my family; we’re always ready for a party.

I always feel so lucky that I get to let loose and have fun like this with my family. I feel lucky that I can bring friends along so they can experience my dad serving them drinks and my grandpa cutting a rug with them on the dance floor.

At the stag and doe I had two great friends join me, one of which came all the way from Switzerland.

One of my best friends spends most of the year in her native Switzerland where she is studying medicine. She’s in Canada for the summer and the first time I’ve seen her in MONTHS I was able to introduce her to my family and show her around my home town.

I was equally excited to show my other friend around. She’s one of the few people left that still lives in my university town (where I still live) and we’ve become much closer as we’ve watched the exodus of our friends move on to bigger and better things (for the record, we’re also doing bigger and better things. Those things just happen to be in our university town).

I’m always proud to bring friends home to where I grew up but it’s so much more fun when I can show them a true family party at the same time.

Do normal people party like this with their families? I’ve always thought that my family was awesome but that maybe not everyone has the same party mentality. Maybe it’s because we’re Irish?

6 Responses to “Cuttin’ it up on the dance floor”


  1. 1 Erin July 21, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    I find it bizarre that people outside of SW Ontario don’t really do stag and does. My work friends think it’s a country thing.

  2. 3 Chica July 21, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    I’ve never heard of a stag and doe either but what a great idea! I think it’s fab when families are close like this and can actually enjoy each other. I consider my sisters and nieces to be really good friends as well as family and love spending time with them. We have a great time when we party together – maybe it’s because we’re of Irish descent too! 🙂 x

  3. 4 ria July 21, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    sounds like an awesome time! there a few people that i can totally let myself go with because i know they will get me home in one piece.

  4. 5 Jenni July 21, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    I’ve never heard of a stag and doe but I like the concept! I wonder if I could talk my friends into having one for me when I get married one day, HaHa.
    And I love that you have so much fun with your faimly – it’s awesome! I wish my family liked to party like that. In my family, no one really drinks, people argue with eachother, and it’s not always fun. Too bad I didn’t have your family! 🙂

    • 6 clairesuzanne July 21, 2010 at 9:31 pm

      Well if you ever need to escape, you’re certainly welcome at my family’s next BBQ. My Uncle Jim will probably call you Sally (he often makes up names for people), my Aunt Andrea will entertain you with talk of her love for Bon Jovi and my dad will feed you as many drinks as you can handle, if not more!


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


