Horsing around

As you may already be aware, I am currently taking applications to fill the position of ‘friend with pool’. Unfortunately, this search is not going very well.

However, last week I did fill a position that I didn’t even know that I was looking for. I now have a ‘friend with horse’.

This isn’t her horse. This horse came from here.

Now we all know that horses are not refreshing like a pool. They don’t provide relief from the 40 degree heat we’re expecting this week. They aren’t fun to lounge beside whilst sipping margaritas and they do not feature a pool boy named Julio.

But, horses do provide hours of entertainment. I went riding on M’s horse last week and had an absolute blast. I’ve always loved horses but never really had much of a chance to ride. Growing up I had another friend who had horses and I remember we used to ride her pony bareback and braid her other horse’s tail. In fact, that’s where I learned my mad braiding skills – standing behind a horse hoping it wasn’t about to poop.

According to M, I’m a “natural”. Now, she’s a really nice person so by “natural” she may  have meant “Go Claire! You didn’t fall off and break your face!” But, this in my opinion, is still a huge achievement.

She gave me a great lesson and I’m amazed at how closely a horse can listen to the rider’s body. I thought you would have to yank on the reigns to get the animal to move, but this horse will turn at just a move of your hips; a tiny squeeze will send you jogging along. Well, you’ll turn or jog along if that’s what the horse wants to do. This horse is a bit temperamental and only listened to me sometimes, when she felt like it.

But, then again, there may be a tiny chance that it had something to do with me rather than the horse, but until proven in a court of law, I’m blaming the horse.

I was also amazed at how hard it is to ride a horse. I used muscles that I never knew I possessed and I was sore for days afterward. I think I’ve finally fully recovered and I’m hoping to be invited out again.

I have a suspicion I’ll get that invite because I think M had as much fun as I did. The last ride M had with her horse before I had gone out with her they were working really hard preparing for a competition. When I got on the horse and tried to ride around M got a nice reminder that her horse really does love her. The horse would listen pretty well to me and we’d do a few laps of the field. But, if we got anywhere close to M, the horse would completely ignore my commands, slow down and trot on over to stand beside her. Not many people have rode her horse other than her and when you put the two of them together it’s pretty obvious they’re a perfect pair; they just fit. But, when you’re training hard for a competition, I think it’s easy to forget that you actually like the horse and the horse actually likes you. Luckily, I was able to remind M that her horse really does think she’s pretty awesome. Me, however, the horse isn’t too sure about yet.

4 Responses to “Horsing around”


  1. 1 ria July 7, 2010 at 11:57 am

    i need a friend with a horse! 🙂

  2. 3 Erin July 4, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    Oh that sounds fun. And I’m glad you learned your hair braiding skills that you used on me on a horse’s butt.


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


