Three’s company

I had an awesome opportunity to have some drinks with both my brother and my sister a week ago and despite the wine-induced illness the next day, it was definitely an awesome night.

I don’t get to see my big sis all that often as she has this wonderful life all set up on a wonderful island called Tobago in the Caribbean (why, of course you can hate her out of jealousy right now).

So, when she managed to finagle a 20 hour stop over in Toronto on her way to yet another exotic locale, my brother and I jumped all over that!

I picked her up in the airport where my dad happened to be flying in from Eastern Europe at the same time. He had a connecting flight to a smaller airport closer to home and a few hours to kill. My big sis and my dad and I enjoyed burgers and fries and some much needed catching up time in the airport.

Side note: What are the fricken odds that my dad and my sister would land in the same airport 15 minutes apart when coming from 2 separate continents! Hello serendipity! Too bad my mom couldn’t have been there too. She was stuck at home looking after the cat.

We bid farewell to our dad and carried on to the next family member on the agenda. We arrived at my brother’s apartment and my sister went straight for the fridge searching for a better bottle of wine to open than the crappy one I brought with me from those lame kiosks at the grocery store.

As she reached into the fridge mulling over which one to open the choice became glaringly obvious. Sitting in my brother’s fridge was this lovely bottle of wine:

[via]

Clearly, the decision was made (for the first bottle anyway, after that we were much less discriminating against my grocery store wine).

The thing is, even though we are all grown up and we all lead very ‘adult’ lives, we are still siblings and we still rival. The dynamics between my brother and sister and I are probably familiar to anyone who has 2 or more siblings.

My sister, the oldest, sets the tone for everyone. If she’s in a good mood, everyone is in a good mood. If, however, she’s not feeling too cheery, no one else is either. Or, at least, as my brother will surely confirm, no one will attempt to be cheery without being punished.

She is strong-willed and she doesn’t seem to be afraid of anything (she moved across the ocean to follow a dream in Trinidad and succeeded!). She excels at most things in life (aside from ignoring my brother’s taunts) and she is a hell of a good time.

We’re six years apart and so growing up we were never very close. When I was in Grade 8 she moved away to school and she hasn’t lived at home since. Yet, I find that as we get older, I feel much closer to her. Even though she’s a million miles away I know I can always pick up the phone or send her an email and get great advice. When she does visit, she makes sure to make her time here with family count. Plus she was an amazing host when I went to visit her at her home and I hope to go back soon.

My brother, the middle child, is the instigator. He is the one that enjoys being cheery when my sister is not. He has not lost his childhood ability to annoy you so thoroughly your teeth are clenched and your eyes have gone bloodshot only to reign it all back in and make you laugh. He’s fiercely protective of me and always gave my new boyfriends the ‘what for’. But, he sees good in everyone and has always been the guy to befriend the person sitting off on their own. He’s a strong extrovert and likes to be the center of attention always ready to bust out that gawd-awful dance move he’s been practicing since grade 6 (a hybrid of the wave, the robot and a seizure). He likes the feel of a small town and has never really endeavoured to stray far from home. He has big plans for life in our hometown and hopes to be able to move back soon. When he does, I know he’ll do great things there.

I, the youngest, display all the classic signs of growing up as the baby. My theme song as a child was a classic ditty from the Rolling Stones called ‘You Can’t Always Get What You Want’ and that song is probably still applicable in my life on a regular basis. Unfortunately (or fortunately), now I don’t have a chorus of 2 older siblings to sing it to me on a daily basis.

I try to walk the middle line between my 2 big siblings. I too, am an extrovert like my brother. But, I’m also strong-willed like my sister. Like my sister, I enjoy traveling. But, like my brother, I enjoy coming home almost more. I’m sure they would be able to list of a slew of less-than-stellar characteristics about me but this is my blog, not theirs (ha! finally I have the final say!).

The fact is, I look up to both of them. They have both accomplished a lot in their respective fields and they both are so different and yet so awesome. I’m super glad we made the best of those mere 20 hours together and I hope another opportunity like that comes again soon.

7 Responses to “Three’s company”


  1. 1 ria June 29, 2010 at 11:53 am

    sounds like an awesome night and makes me wish i had siblings

  2. 2 LiLu June 29, 2010 at 11:04 am

    I do officially hate her a little bit- LIVING on Tobago?! Insane!

    BUT that’s awesome that you all got to see each other 🙂 I just went home and saw my fam. It’s always great!

  3. 3 Erika June 29, 2010 at 10:53 am

    I only have one sister. She is the oldest, and the first grandchild. We fight every time we see each other for more than five minutes. I sadly have never looked up to her, and as a role model, she was the worse choice I had. I think we’re one of those few sets of siblings that will never get along. I’m okay with it, I’m used to it.

    How was the wine? I haven’t tried it.

  4. 4 Chica June 29, 2010 at 5:11 am

    Family dynamics are so interesting aren’t they? I love your serendipitous reunion! My big sister sets the tone, too, and I can especially relate to this part: “no one will attempt to be cheery without being punished.” This made me laugh! And jealous, yes so jealous, of the Trinidad thing. I hope you get to visit her lots!

  5. 6 Erin June 28, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    With my siblings, the middle one is the moody one, I am definitely the instigator, and the youngest walks the line. 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


