Loving, not loving and really wanting or: A haphazard blog post full of lists

Things I’m loving:

  • Dance/pop/rock music. I bought 3 cds in the past 2 weeks (who buys cds anymore?!?) I love me some “round tapes” (that’s what my dad calls them) and these three are fabulous. In my head, they all fit into the same genre of music (I’m sure the internet will correct me if I’m wrong and someone will judge me for being all ignorant about music). But, I can’t figure out what genre it is. It’s a lot of dance, a lot of pop and a little bit of rock/alternative. All I know is they all rock and I’m rocking with them.
    • It’s Blitz! – Yeah Yeah Yeahs
    • Fixin to Thrill – Dragonette
    • We Started Nothing – The Ting Tings
  • Colourful nail polish. Mine are blue today. Last week they were green part of the time and turquoise another part of the time. For a girl who never paints her nails, that’s a whole lot of nail painting!
  • My one and only tomato plant.
  • That my sister is coming to visit soon!

Things I’m not loving so much:

  • Being so fricken busy! This summer I have a tonne of obligations. From wedding showers to family BBQs, my schedule is packed. I am excited about all of these events on their own. I love seeing family and I love dressing up in summer dresses for such fun occasions. But, when they are all combined, it’s a little overwhelming and I feel like I’ve lost control over my own schedule. And, then I feel raging guilt cause I shouldn’t complain because I’m actually looking forward to all the events. I’m just not looking forward to them all back-to-back-to-back-to-back. It feels like I’m booked till Christmas.
  • That clunky noise my car makes when I turn right.
  • That my knee went all wonky before my 5km race. I’m not going to be able to run the one I planned. But, my knee is getting better (doesn’t everyone have a nurse practitioner, chiropractor and massage therapist on call at all times?) and I will run a 5km race this summer.

Things I want:

  • I desperately want to go dancing. Like wild, crazy, wear red-lipstick and a sequined top dancing. But, the aforementioned schedule means I’m booked till August. Luckily, some of my planned events will involve dancing. Even though it will be sans red lipstick and surrounded by family it may fit the bill because my fam can really boogy.
  • A leather jacket. I know it’s not the season for such frivolities, but I really want one for the fall.
  • On a more season-appropriate clothing request, I really want something made entirely of sequins. I don’t know if I could pull off a full dress, maybe a shirt or a vest.
  • A hobby or a project. Despite having full weekends, I still want something to work on that’s just mine. I’m not very crafty or artistic and I’m not very athletic or good at any team sports. I’m still running but I’d like a project that’s a little more fun and a little less sweaty. I’m open to suggestions. No really, please, provide me with suggestions!

What do you do just for you? What are your hobbies?

7 Responses to “Loving, not loving and really wanting or: A haphazard blog post full of lists”


  1. 1 LiLu June 25, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    Colorful nail polish is my favorite! 🙂

  2. 2 Nora June 15, 2010 at 11:13 pm

    I buy CDs still; I thought I was one of the last ones 🙂

    And I’d love a girls night out with dancing, sequin tops, and dancing until our feetcan’t take it anymore. Too bad we don’t live closer otherwise I’d make sure we cleared our calendars and off we’d go!

  3. 4 Jenni June 15, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    I’m with you on loving the bright nail polish. Before this year, I never painted my nails but now I can’t not have a bright color on them 🙂
    I also want a leather jacket and something made all out of sequins. Pair them together and I think you would have a super cute outfit as well!

  4. 6 ria June 15, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    although i love when i have things to do i’m not a fan of everything back to back. this past weekend i worshiped the evening i had to myself and could be in complete quiet or do whatever i wanted.

    i’m sorry to hear about your knee i hope it gets better asap!

    hmmm hobbies…reading. i’d like to say scrapbooking but i haven’t done it in over a year 😦 not enough time!

    • 7 clairesuzanne June 16, 2010 at 11:14 am

      I’ve considered scrap booking. The problem is that I’m not big on taking photos. I either forget my camera altogether or just forget to take photos. But, reading – I’m all over that one!


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


