Putting an end to The Wallow

These past few weeks have been a little tough for me. Despite the amazing-ness of this sunshiny weather, I’ve been feeling less than awesome about the upcoming summer.

This warm, humid, sunshiny weather reminds me of the years I spent working at a summer camp. Summers past found me with a standard uniform of cargo shorts and tank tops. I would wake to a ringing bell and not worry about brushing my hair before stumbling into the sun to find 100 smiling children and a day full of crafts, running, swimming and face paint ahead of me.

I love my job, but it’s primarily an office job (although I do get to go tour farms every once in a while. Farm days are my favourite days). It’s hard not to fall into a bit of a seasonal slump when you trudge into a climate controlled, weather-neutral workspace which features tauntingly large but unopening windows giving you a perfect visual to the outdoors but no way to actually enjoy them.

I’ve been longing for the summer where I used to wear my watch tan line with pride; the summer where I used to muscle children out of the 2 feet of clay they got stuck in; the summer where I would invent games to entertain children for hours with simple props like Popsicle sticks and milk crates (I worked at a POOR camp); the summer where I would marvel at my ‘tan’ only to see it wash off in the hose and realize that it was just a nice layer of dirt.

I haven’t worked at camp in years, but I still miss it. I miss being outside and wearing french braids.

But, the time for wallowing has come to an end. I need to get out of this slump, pull up my big girl panties and start enjoying this summer.

To help me with this plan to end The Wallow, I have created a(n incomplete) list of fun things I will do this summer:

  • Become a girl who wears nail polish – I have nice nails, I should colour them.
  • Fall in love with all of my old jewelry again and find ways to wear it – I have a lot of chunky, ethnic-looking jewelry from when I was a pseudo-hippie in University. It was all delegated to weekend wear when I got a big-girl job and then it went from weekend wear to being forgotten. I think it’s about time I reclaim those hippie days and match that rockin’ bejeweled faux-silver cuff with some dress capris and a stylish, yet office appropriate top. And yes, I will be sporting that obnoxiously chunky ring in the board meeting. Deal with it.
  • Run a 5 km race.
  • Grow a vegetable – I only have a small balcony but, by golly, I will grow some cherry tomatoes!
  • Train and complete a mini-triathlon.
  • Get outside more – I want to explore the trails around my city and I want to find some activities that let me re-live my glory camp days. Anyone up for some Capture the Flag? (seriously, who wants to play?)
  • Find a friend with a pool – If you follow me on twitter, you will already be aware that I am currently accepting applications for this position.
  • Spend more time drinking on patios at local pubs with friends and host auditions for “Claire’s favourite summer beer.”
  • Party with my family at my brother’s wedding and all the events leading up to it.
  • Plan an awesome vacation with Matt for the end of the summer before he starts school again – we’re currently considering Washington, DC but Boston is also an option. Please advise.
  • Spend at least one weekend at a cottage – do you have a cottage? Can I come visit?
  • Wear summer dresses as much as possible.
  • Continue to expand my music library – I am slowly breaking out of my pop-radio-only slump and I’d like to keep on that.
  • Expand my sandal and summer shoe options.
  • Get dirty – whether it’s from gardening, hiking or an awesome game of Capture the Flag (seriously, please let me know if you want to play), summer isn’t summer without getting a little messy.

That’s all of I’ve got for now, but I’m sure there will be more to add to it. This should be enough to hold the wallow at bay for at least a little while.

What are your summer plans?

9 Responses to “Putting an end to The Wallow”


  1. 1 erinuncensored June 11, 2010 at 10:17 am

    i love your anti-wallow list. i want to make one of my own now 🙂

  2. 2 Kate June 9, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    Do you want some chunky, ethnic-looking jewelry from Chile?

  3. 3 ria June 4, 2010 at 9:50 am

    great list, i should try most of what you have on there! i want to grow something but i’m pretty sure i’ll kill it lol

  4. 4 Ronnica June 1, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    Painted nails and dresses…two things that always brighten my day! And I’m getting a lot of joy in our garden…just now starting to get some fruit growing!

  5. 6 Erin June 1, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    WE NEED TO PLAY CAPTURE THE FLAG! WITH JESS! ASAP!

    I am terribly terribly campsick. I’ve come to the conclusion that those were some of the best years of our lives but we had no idea at the time.
    We need to start buying lottery tickets in order to get our own camp.

  6. 7 michelle June 1, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    Now.. I don’t have a pool, but my summer plans include lots of claire time. can’t wait to see you! and keep writing, it’s getting me through my never-ending exam period. even though your posts only make me miss you more. bye!! xoxo

  7. 8 Erika June 1, 2010 at 9:28 am

    I’ve begun to try and wear summer dresses more, and I paint my toe nails, but I can’t stand painting my finger nails.

    I’m use to the summers stuck in office buildings. I didn’t work at a camp while in school, I worked for the government, stuck in an office building is my last three summers.

    My neighbour has a pool that I am allowed to use… does that count as a friend with a pool??

    • 9 clairesuzanne June 2, 2010 at 9:47 pm

      You have awesome neighbours. That totally counts. Heck! At this point, I would accept ‘weirdly smelly and annoying pseudo-acquaintance with a pool’.


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


