A shameful confession in which I admit to becoming a reclusive 11-year-old

This past month, I have become a bit of a recluse. I got a little wrapped up in a book series and it was like being stuck in a death trap. On one hand, I was completely enthralled by the story that was weaved through the 2000 plus pages.

But, on the other (very large) hand, I lost my life. I spent almost every waking hour reading and when little things like eating, work, family engagements, etc got in the way, part of my brain was still thinking about it.

On the third hand was the embarrassment. This series is very popular and has a lot of fans. Of this, I am not ashamed. It’s the part where all of those fans range in between the ages of 11 and 16 that concerns me. I, dear internet, have become a Twilight fan.

I’ll give you a moment to recoil in the horror of it all. (Or, if you too got sucked into the madness, please take this moment to placate me in the comments)

I’ve already explained the shock and confusion surrounding my viewing of the first movie. And I was sort of disappointed with the second movie. But, a friend lent me the books and I had run out of other books to read so I picked them up one day. BAD MOVE!

I was completely sucked into the series. Holy hell! I can’t even tell you if they were good I devoured them so quickly. I just couldn’t get enough. Yet, at the same time, I was desperate to be done with them so I could move on with what I previously thought was my pseudo-adult life (I have since realized I’m still a blubbering 11-year-old).

Now that they are done, there is this immense sense of relief.* I think the only person more relieved than me at having this phase over with is Matt. He puts up with my neuroses like a champ, but I think he was seriously starting to get peeved with this little obsession.

Fortunately, Erin has another book series lined up for me to read. She tells me they are good but if they suck me in and ruin my life like Twilight did, I swear I will cut her.

In this breathing space between my life with Twilight and when I see Erin next to get some new books, I think I’m going to re-read some Kurt Vonnegut. Maybe I’ll start with Slaughter House Five and finish with Breakfast of Champions. I could use some dark humour and Kilgore Trout in my life right about now.

*I’m also sort of really sad they’re over but, shhh, don’t tell Matt.

5 Responses to “A shameful confession in which I admit to becoming a reclusive 11-year-old”


  1. 1 michelle May 31, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    Claire, you shocked me, but what the hell, you got me hooked on sookie and i’m forever grateful, reading dead and gone right now. Erin is there already a new one out after that?
    Also, have you guys watched vampire diaries? I swallowed the whole season in one week, on top of 10 hours of exam studying a day. bad move, but sooo good. sigh.

    • 2 clairesuzanne May 31, 2010 at 7:35 pm

      Oh Michelle! You have no idea how much my tastes have deteriorated since you left. This is probably reason enough for you to come back.

      As for Sookie, Dead in the Family just came out. You can only get it in hardcover. But, if you come home, you can borrow my copy!

  2. 3 Chica May 30, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    I decided to give Twilight a shot before ridiculing it. I thought it was twelve shades of awful, terribly written, had pathetic character development, and delivered a dangerous message to young women. And yet? Could not put it down. Oh, for shame! I daren’t buy the rest of the series, I fear I would never recover.

  3. 4 ria May 27, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    i’m also embarrassed by how the books sucked me in haha

  4. 5 Erin May 27, 2010 at 12:06 am

    I have so many books better than Twilight for you to read. 2 series in fact. They all have shameful covers, but once you get past that they’re really good series. Plus the rest of Anita. Plus the new Sookie.
    And if you cut me I will cut you back – I roll with street kids now you know.


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


