There’s no turning back now

A few weeks ago, five to be exact, I started running.

I’ll take a moment and let that sink in.

The last time I ran was in grade 4 when I was on the cross country team. I ran in one race and I was more interested in smiling and waving at my mom’s camera than actually running the race. I finished it, but probably only because I knew there would be ice cream and more picture taking at the end.

I told myself all winter that I would try the Couch to 5k program once it got sunny and warm and then it got sunny and warm and I sort of pretended that I never remembered telling myself (or others) that plan. Unfortunately Fortunately, my boss (who ran a 1/2 marathon months after having a baby!!!) remembered my pie in the sky talk of running and started pestering me about it. Every once in a while she would email me info about different 5k races going on around the area and I deleted most of them. Then she sent me a link to one called the Hog Jog and for a brief moment I thought that a race named after swine may in fact be reasonable. In that brief moment I told her, “yeah, I’ll run that with you.”

Despite my horror at the words that came out of my mouth, I diligently started the Couch to 5 K program (which is a learn to run program over 9 weeks) and found that it wasn’t awful. It wasn’t fun or good, but it didn’t make me want to die.

On run 3 of week 4 (you run 3 times per week) I was visiting my parents and it was threatening to storm. The wind was howling, the sky was that wonderful green-gray that you only see before a thunder storm and the waves along Lake Erie rivaled those in that 1990’s movie White Squall (it starred that guy from Party of Five). But, I decided to run anyway (don’t worry, my mom promised to come get me if it started lightning).

Then, on run 1 of week 5, I ran in the rain. It certainly wasn’t thunder storm rain, but it was still wet.

On run 2 of week 5, I ran even though I was hung over.

Even though I wasn’t really all that gung-ho about this whole running a 5k race thing from the start, I’m kind of in it now. I mean, if I give up now and don’t run this race then I just raced against a thunder storm, ran in the rain and fought through the headache of too many beers at the bowling alley (yeah, I’m THAT cool) for No Fricken Reason.

I’m sorry, but I won’t let that happen! I will not let that pain be for nothing!

I will run that Hog Jog and it will be wonderful (mostly because I think they are serving pork-on-a-bun after the race!).

After that, I’m going to face my fears of open water and do a mini-triathlon in September (they call it a Try-a-Tri, nothing with that cute of a name can be bad, right?).

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t love this whole running thing. My jaw still drops and my legs start quaking when I hear people talking about marathons and half marathons. But, so far, it means that I’m more active than I’ve been in a while and that’s always a good thing.

5 Responses to “There’s no turning back now”


  1. 1 ria May 20, 2010 at 9:00 am

    woo!!!!!! good for your! 🙂

  2. 2 Erika May 19, 2010 at 10:04 am

    Yay!!! Good for you! I can’t wait to get back into running, a think another week and my shins should be fine! They didn’t hurt at baseball this week.

    Keep it up!

  3. 3 Erin May 19, 2010 at 1:05 am

    Way to go! I’ve always detested running, especially because it reminds me of airhorns and searching for missing “campers” half asleep.

  4. 4 kabaker May 18, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    Way to go on running! I am also doing couch to 5k and I just finished week 5. Keep up running and good luck with your 5k! I am doing one in August.

    KB
    kabaker.wordpress.com

  5. 5 Kate May 18, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    This is great – I am very proud of you! Maybe I will try out this Couch to 5K program. I hate running but being active gives me a hop, skip and a jump in my step – wait second thought, it is too hot here.

    Swimming in Ontario in September – Really? I mean GREAT for YOU – go for it!


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


