Country mouse and city mouse

I have arrived safely in Montreal. Last night we had a low-key evening at a pub with M and another friend I used to live with C and some of their friends. Well, it was as low-key as you can get in Montreal when the Canadiens are playing. Luckily they beat Washington and everyone was celebrating instead of rioting because I’m told shit gets a little messy when they lose.

I like this city. I like that all of the restaurants and cafes have two levels of patios. I like that if you close your eyes when walking down the street and only half listen to the people around you it sounds sort of like your in Paris. Although if you actually listen to the Francophones around you it becomes very obvious you are not in Paris as their accent is no where close to Parisian. But if you have a good imagination, you can kind of make it work.

I also love the shopping here. They have so many great stores and all the salespeople great you with ‘Bonjour-Hello’ and wait for your lead to know whether they should speak to you in French or English. For the most part, they don’t get too snotty when you don’t speak French.

But, ultimately, I am not a big city person; I’m more of a country mouse than a city mouse (anyone else remember that cartoon!). I like visiting cities, but am always grateful as I take the highway out of town. I get somewhat claustrophobic with so many people around. I get tired of the incessant noise and the idea of a city that never sleeps is not an enjoyable one to me, despite what Jay-Z and Alicia Keys say.

Although I love and respect the amazing-ness that is public transit, I grew up in the country (read: middle of nowhere) where you had to drive everywhere and I resent having to pay $12 to park my car in the city.

But, alas, I’m so glad I am here. It’s so nice to catch up with friends, shop and visit new places. Even though I’ll be glad to leave the city itself, I sort of wish I could take some parts of it with me home with me. But I can’t, so I’ll enjoy it while I’m here.

4 Responses to “Country mouse and city mouse”


  1. 1 Erin May 2, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    I loved that cartoon!

  2. 2 Blondie April 27, 2010 at 11:02 am

    Montreal has great pubs! I like the pub scene there. Much better than Calgary.

  3. 3 kacowan April 26, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    ditch the car – and put out your thumb!

  4. 4 ria April 25, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    i can appreciate the city but like you i’m not used to having to pay so much to park!


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


