A road trip and a request

The open road is calling.

As the sun glows bright, the leaves grow green and the buds begin to sprout, there is nothing better than an open road.

I would give anything to saddle up my hog and take on the endless stream of asphalt with my lady strapped behind me and my boys on either side.

But alas, I have neither a hog nor a lady and I have not been dropped into a Bob Seger song.

What I do have is a 2001 Cavelier that’s sporty because it only has 2 doors (ha! I can dream), a suitcase full of shoes and an ipod to keep me company.

I’m off on a road trip this upcoming week and I am pumped. Unfortunately, I’m tripping alone, but I feel like calling the 7 hour drive to Montreal a ‘road trip’ makes it infinitely more fun. So, I’m sticking with road trip.

Come Friday morning, I will be on my way to Montreal to visit with friends. Friends who I haven’t seen in over a year. Friends that I used to see every single day at home, in class, at the bar, at home, at the gym, in the library, and at home again. You see, I’m going to visit some old housemates and I am excited.

So far, the trip is pretty open ended. The only big plans we have are for M’s birthday and I’ve been told they involve alcohol and a cabaret called Hunk-O-Mania (don’t worry, I’m scared too!). Other than that, I have nothing scheduled. We might go shopping (ha! I like how I pretend it’s a ‘might’), check out some museums, go to the biosphere, the possibilities are endless. Well, almost endless, endless with the confines that we are in Montreal and don’t have an infinite supply of money.

On the way home, I’m breaking up my drive and stopping by Ottawa to hang out with some other friends who I am equally excited to see. I haven’t seen there fancy new place yet and I’m excited to hang out with their beautiful puppy again!

Overall, I’m pretty excited. I haven’t been on a vacation that didn’t involve family (who I love dearly) in far to long and I’m really pumped to meet old friends and catch up.

Although I don’t have many concrete plans for when I actually get there, I do have some plans for the drive. Most of those plans include a kick ass playlist.

I think I’ll start out with some Top 40 to get me excited and to distract me from the fact that I am at hour 0 of 7. But, there is only so much Ke$ha and Justin Beiber a girl can handle and I suspect I’ll need to be moving away from the pop stations come the end of hour 1 on the road.

Next comes some sweet podcasts I have lined up (hello Stewart McLean, please tell me a wonderful story).

The plan is to explore some less-mainstream music from hours 3 through to the end of time 7. I think this is the perfect opportunity to remind myself of the fact that I do enjoy some great music and I do not have to submit my ears to the repetitive beats and auto-tuned voices of Top 40 ALL.THE.TIME. Seriously, I swear I used to have good taste in music but lately all I listen to is the pop radio station and I think I need to explore some other options.

This is where you come in. Dearest Readers, (all 12 of you) please tell me who I should add to my playlist for this road trip. What’s your favourite song right now? Who have you seen live recently that just rocked your socks off? Please, help me out!

Also, tell me what you think I MUST do in Ottawa and Montreal!

6 Responses to “A road trip and a request”


  1. 1 ria April 25, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    oh definitely call it a road trip. have a wonderful and safe time! 🙂

  2. 2 Ronnica April 22, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    I must admit that right now my playlist more often than not includes a Disney princess. *shame* It’s really pathetic how much listening to Selena Gomez or Demi Lovato will wake me up. All that to say, I will not be offering any music advice as clearly I need help.

  3. 3 kacowan April 22, 2010 at 8:43 am

    Thought of another great song that needs to be on your playlist – one of the best road trip “pick-me-up” songs: Walking on Sunshine (Katrina and the Waves)- i am dancing in my chair thinking about it!

  4. 4 kacowan April 21, 2010 at 11:17 am

    You should try some bess caribbean beats – personal fav of the year: JW & Blaze – PALANCE – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FXB5BWG3JxM

  5. 5 Erin April 21, 2010 at 6:25 am

    By lady, you mean me, right?


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


