Dance Break

Remember way back in Grade 6 when the coolest thing to do on a Friday night was have a sleepover with your BFs4Eva and make up dance routines in your basement?

Remember way back when you and your closest gal pals would record music videos and replay them a million times over until you had all of the dance moves memorized.

Remember at the Grade 7 dance when ‘the song’ came on and the dance floor would clear and you would perform those routines for all your classmates in perfect sync with your 3 best friends?

Gawd, those days were awesome.

I used to dance a lot. I used to be in tap class, ballet class, jazz class and hip hop class. I was often at the dance studio four or five nights a week. It consumed my life way back in the day. That was until I decided to drop it all to pursue my other love: acting. In grade 10, that was a life changing and very difficult decision.

I cannot even begin to deny that I loved the stage. I loved being the centre of attention and I loved performing. I’m confident I made the right decision way back then. As much as I loved dance, I loved drama too.

But, dance has always stuck with me. All through high school and even into university I used to choreograph dances to songs in my head. I would hear a song and get some crazed idea of dance steps that I could not even begin to actually do in real life, but I would fit them together in my head to create the perfect routine that would wow the crowds in my imaginary, but sold-out, theatre.

I don’t do that so much anymore – the choreography-in-my-head thing. I think I just fell out of practice. I tried to pull together a make-believe masterpiece in my kitchen the other day while washing dishes, but it wasn’t as easy as it used to be. I think even imaginary choreography takes practice.

I think I’ll start practicing again. Not in real life, but in my head. Maybe I’ll start with something easy. I think I could probably make a rockin’ ensemble piece to N’Sync’s I Want You Back. In fact, I may even remember some stellar moves from grade seven.

4 Responses to “Dance Break”


  1. 1 ria April 7, 2010 at 11:29 am

    i loved making up dances!

  2. 2 Erin April 6, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    You loved being the centre of attention? In past tense?? Silly Claire, we all know this is still present tense.
    My last year as senior staff at camp we did a BSB-esque chair dance. It was fantastic.

    • 3 clairesuzanne April 7, 2010 at 7:05 am

      Good Point. I do indeed still love being the centre of attention, there is no point in lying about it.

      • 4 Michelle April 13, 2010 at 5:25 pm

        oh my goodness, I used to do that too, the choreography in your head thing. a long long time ago though. on long roadtrips across australia where we had one tape with us, I had each song choreographed. not sure if I could do that now though, maybe i’m out of imagination. 😦


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


