My love/hate relationship with the salon

I got my hair cut today for the first time in nearly 6 months. This is nothing new; I’ve never been one to cut my hair all that often. In fact, this whole salon thing this is fairly new. Back in the day (circa 3 years ago) I would just get anyone to cut my hair. My cousin, my friend in her basement, some guy on the street that smelled like sweet cigars; it didn’t matter, as long as they had sharp scissors. Okay, as long as they had scissors that weren’t sporting any rust. I was pretty indiscriminate.

But, I found a salon that I like and now I go there. Twice a year.

I have mixed feelings towards getting my hair cut. It has nothing to do with the salon and nothing to do with my hair dresser. It has everything to do with me.

Let’s start with the hate so I can end on a positive note.

Things I hate about getting my hair cut:

  • The judgment. Or rather, the fear of judgment. I love my hair. It’s curly and long and I think it’s one of my better features. But, because I love it so much, I’m scared ‘the professionals’ are going to tell me something bad. ‘Something bad’ may include, but is not limited to:
    • It’s a mess, how could you let it get so bad with split ends.
    • Who cut your hair last time, it’s completely uneven (this used to happen a lot when I would let Joe Schmoe off the street cut my hair).
    • What the heck kind of products are you using, it’s awful.
    • It’s falling out and it will never grow back.
  • The whole cutting part. I have long hair and I like my hair long. I hate the fact that I have to cut it so will grow more and look better (thanks, Split Ends!). Plus, I have curly hair so when you cut off an inch it looks like you cut off 3.

Things I love about getting my hair cut:

  • My salon gives you a head and shoulder massage before they wash your hair.
  • The hair washing. I’m convinced there is nothing better in this world than getting your hair washed.
  • The flat irons. I never straighten my hair because I don’t know how and I don’t have the patience to learn. Therefore, whenever I get it cut, I make them straighten it for me. I’m convinced my hair looks better curly, but the novelty of straight hair is not lost on the girl who wears it curly 363 days of the year. Because of this, I usually leave the salon with longer hair than when I went in all thanks to their wonderful flat irons.

So, the good out weigh the bad and I am currently enjoying one of the two days a year when I can actually run my fingers through my hair.

Check it out:

Does anyone else have weird hair salon-self-esteem issues?

3 Responses to “My love/hate relationship with the salon”


  1. 1 LiLu April 2, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    Oh, dude. My hair is ALWAYS a mess. I just run in and say, “JEN, I’M SORRY I LET THIS HAPPEN BUT MAYDAY MAYDAY FIX ME!!!!!!!”

    So she can’t be judgy, cause I totally call myself out on it.

  2. 2 Melanie April 1, 2010 at 8:00 pm

    As a fellow curly haired gal, I totally have all those hang-ups and insecurities about the hair cut. The only difference is that they don’t flat-iron my hair when I get it cut. boo!
    And by the by, your hair looks fabulous straight! Simple faboo my dear, simply faboo!

  3. 3 Erin March 30, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    I have NEVER seen your hair straight and I’ve known you for just under a decade. My coworkers always know when I’ve gotten mine cut because I come in with it straight.
    The head massage is the best part about getting your hair cut! I’ve finally found a person in Toronto that it good with my hair and doesn’t charge an arm and a leg and she’s really really good with the head massage.


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


