Decisions, decisions or a story of thirteen year old’s dreams come true

When I was 13, I wanted what all 13 year olds want: a boyfriend in a band, the latest [insert band that pisses your parents off here] album, fire engine-red hair and something pierced that wasn’t their earlobes.

Since I had already achieved all of my 13 year old goals save one, I started working on getting stuck with a needle. Being the practical nurse that she is, a conversation I had with my mother went something like this:

Me: Can I get something pierced?

My Mom: You have your ears pierced.

Me: I want to get my upper ear pierced, through the cartilage.

My Mom: You know that really hurts and it will get infected and look gross.

Me: [Insert friend’s name here] has one and she said it didn’t hurt that bad and it didn’t get infected.

My Mom: I don’t know about a cartilage piercing, they can be a big problem.

At this point, I had almost moved on to some other ridiculous request. I was a stubborn child, but I was content enough with my red hair and nail polish wearing, punk rock drumming boyfriend to let the whole thing slide. But, my mother’s mind had apparently run away with the spoon and she said the following thing:

My Mom: I would rather you get your belly button pierced than get your upper ear pierced.

Me: (Eyes widen and a slow grin appears) Sure.

My Mom: (With a look of shock and horror, unable to believe what she just said) Nononononononono. I didn’t really mean that. Besides, there is no way you would do that, you’d chicken out before you got your belly button pierced.

I don’t know what happened to my mother that day. She really is a very smart woman. But that day she had clearly lost it.

Everyone knows that the best way to get a teenager to do something is to call them scaredy-cats. Heck! That’s the best way to convince anyone of any age to do something (unless of course they are mature and level headed).

Two days later my mom and I were walking into a tattoo and piercing parlor. As we walked up the long, steep staircase (cause obviously the tattoo parlor we went to was on the second floor of some sketchy store that sold tie-dye shirts and ‘glass sculptures’ in the back) she continued muttering her mantra “You will chicken out. You will chicken out. Youwillchickenout. Youwillchickenout. Ohmygodpleaseletmybabychickenout. Holyheckpleaseletherchickenout.” and on and on it went.

I didn’t chicken out.

Most days I don’t think about my belly button. In fact, I go for months, years even, without thinking about my belly button. But lately, I’ve started to think that it’s time to take out the ring. I am no longer 13 and, shockingly, I know longer have the figure of a 13 year old. I have rid myself of bad hair dye and punk rock boyfriends, why not get rid of the ring?

But, it’s kind of hard to part with something that’s been attached to you for 11 years. I have almost spent more years alive with a belly button ring than without.

I would really just continue on with not thinking about my belly button. But now that I wear dresses and skirts sort of regularly, I notice that tights and nylons hit me right across my belly button and it is kind of irritating. No wonder belly button piercings only came into style when waistlines dropped from your waist to your pubic bone.

Anyone else have this problem? Or am I alone in my struggle to purge myself of my 13 year old successes?

3 Responses to “Decisions, decisions or a story of thirteen year old’s dreams come true”


  1. 1 bevchen March 27, 2010 at 10:33 am

    I never wanted anything pierced (other than my ears, which I had done when I was 7). Possibly because I knew I would be allowed. You can’t really rebel when nothing’s forbidden…

  2. 2 Erin March 25, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    I was WAY too much of a chicken to get anything pierced. I didn’t even get my ears done until uni.

  3. 3 ria March 25, 2010 at 9:42 am

    so funny! i got mine done when I turned 18 because my mom would never take me. i’ve taken it out a couple times but i always miss it. i think i look funny without it since i’ve had it for almost 10 years. since most people don’t see it i’ll probably leave mine in 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


