5 Years

Today is my 5 year anniversary with the Boyfriend.

Since it’s pretty clear that he’s going be be sticking around for a while, I feel completely comfortable formally introducing him to the internet (with his real name).

Dearest Internet, Meet Matt:

Matt meet the internet.

In five years we have accomplished a lot both together and on our own.

In the first year we were together we kept our relationship secret from our friends for a while for reasons that made oh so much sense back then but that I now strain to remember. We survived long distance when he left for a backpacking trip through Europe for 2 months.

He conspired with my friend and camp colleague (can you have colleagues at summer camp?) to surprise me by showing up at camp on his way back from the airport. He hid in a box with a big bow on it (this was probably said camp colleague’s idea).

We did more long distance as we ventured out to different universities in different cities. I fondly recall sneaking into his ‘boys only’ dorm.

We did even more long distance and celebrated our 1st anniversary apart as I drank beers in India and he toasted St. Patty’s in Toronto.

We spent fully 6 months on different continents in the first year we were together.

In our second year as a couple, we said goodbye to long distance and Matt transferred schools (for a multitude of reasons that weren’t me). We spent countless hours in the librasry studying together. We spent countless hours partying with friends. We rode our bikes back and forth between each others house.

In true style, we rang in our second anniversary by showing up at the local pub at 2pm ready to settle in to a long day of classic St. Patty’s Day celebrations. No flowers. No chocolate. No candles. Just a pint of green beer and some friends.

The next year brought much stress as I entered my final year of school. Matt stayed up late with me as I frantically wrote papers and studied for exams. He was always there with a joke, a smile and a cup of tea.

I don’t remember how we celebrated our third anniversary which makes me suspect it was similar to how we celebrated our second.

The fourth year was a year full of moving. I finished school while Matt entered his final year. I took my first grown up job right out of school and moved to a small town. When that job didn’t work out as planned, I moved back to my university town and started my second official ‘real-world’ job.

Each time, Matt was there packing, lifting, loading and carrying. Between storage units, my parents house and new apartments, he probably moved me 4 times in a 3 month period. And he did it mostly without complaint.

We held each others hand as I embarked on a new career and he faced the ever so stressful final year of undergrad. I did my best to stay up late with him while he wrote papers as he had done for me in my final year. Those papers paid off as he graduated with honours.

Again, I don’t remember how we celebrated our fourth anniversary. We aren’t big on anniversaries, but we are big on St. Patrick’s day. I suppose this says something about how we first got together…

The past year has brought the most change yet. We made the big leap of moving in together and faced knowing nods and pats on the back from friends and family as they warned us that ‘living together changes things.’ We held back our chuckles as we hid the fact that we didn’t believe them. I’m still amazed at how easy living together is. The ‘big leap’ wasn’t so much of a leap as a well thought out step.

Matt has been accepted to graduate school in a very respected program in the next town over. I have survived and thrived in a merger at work as three organizations became one. We have both adapted to a changing town that is no longer filled with our university friends who have moved on to grad schools and careers all over the world. We have both met new people, made new friends and rediscovered our city beyond the confines of the university.

We have been dating for five years. But we have been best friends for nearly 10. We are your classic ‘best friends who fall in love’ story and I wouldn’t want it any other way.

4 Responses to “5 Years”


  1. 1 Erin March 17, 2010 at 10:10 am

    Congrats on 5 years! It’s a strange number that feels like both “wow 5 years already!” and “It seems like you’ve been together so much longer!” You guys are the cutest. Miss you both!

  2. 2 Erin March 17, 2010 at 8:38 am

    That was vomity-cute, which of course means I loved it. And yes you can have camp colleagues! I said so.

  3. 3 ria March 17, 2010 at 8:37 am

    happy anniversary! you are an adorable couple with such a great story. both of your lives sound exciting and full. here’s to many more years of happy memories and growing together! cheers 🙂

  4. 4 Kate Cowan March 17, 2010 at 8:29 am

    It seams like this guy MATT has been around for longer then 5 years …


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


