Let the light shine in

Just in case you didn’t here, Punxsutawney Phil and Wiarton Willy so graciously informed us that there will be 6 more weeks of winter yesterday. Now, I don’t know anything about Groundhog Day and I don’t care enough to google it, but seriously, who decided we were going to rely on a small rodent to predict the weather? The weatherman on Channel 3 doesn’t usually predict tomorrow’s weather correctly so how can we expect a groundhog to predict the next 6 weeks? That’s a lot of pressure for such a fuzzy being.*

But, all this aside, I am starting to see an end to winter.

You see, the boyfriend and I are on slightly different schedules. He usually stays up later than I do and I usually get up earlier than he does. Because I’m the best girlfriend ever, I try to be quiet for him in the morning as not to wake him from his slumber.

Most of the year, this is no problem. I get up, get in the shower and then tip toe back into the room to get dressed. Unfortunately, winter brings darkness that lasts for hours on end and those hours are often still going when it’s time for me to get up. During the winter months, as I try to quietly find something to wear, things don’t always go so well.

I trip on a belt that hasn’t been put away and land with a thud and a shriek. I put on my underwear inside out and don’t notice until lunch time. I drop an earring and have to rummage around trying to find it. I accidentally drop a hanger and it clatters to the ground. All of these things, they happen and they are noisy.

Winter, I have decided, is the reason that I am not always the best girlfriend.

But, these past few mornings, I have noticed something wonderful; a light at the end of the tunnel, if you will. These past few mornings there was no grasping blindly at the dresser as I tumble over a stray shoe. There have been no mismatched socks and thankfully, no backwards or inside-out underwear fiascoes. There has also been no lost jewelery and very few shrieks.

This, my friends, can only mean one thing: the days are getting longer. Light is streaming through my bedroom windows at a reasonable hour and I am no longer dressing in the dark. This, is cause for celebration.

I wonder if Phil and Willy will share a toast with me?

Photo Source

*It is a fact that the fuzzier a being, the less pressure they can handle. Treat your bear and kitten friends with care, they can’t handle the stress.

6 Responses to “Let the light shine in”


  1. 1 Erin February 12, 2010 at 2:04 am

    Didn’t Willy die? Does anyone outside of Ontario even know Willy? And, Wiarton, really, couldn’t they have found a more important town?

    • 2 clairesuzanne February 12, 2010 at 8:34 am

      I don’t think groundhogs have a very long lifespan, but I think they just keep replacing them with new “willies.”

      A couple years ago he died the night before groundhog day. So on the day, they pulled out a dead groudhog (or something like that) and it was a big shock and maybe a scandle? I can’t really remember.

      And finally, Wiarton is a very important town. It is just as important as Punxatawny. Don’t be hatin’

  2. 3 bevchen February 4, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    I also get up before my boyfriend, but he can sleep through anything so I can turn on the light and make as much noise as I want… he’ll just lie there and snore!

    (I came here from sleepyjane’s blog by the way).

  3. 5 ria February 4, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    i heard on the radio that it’s a german tradition that was brought over. they used to rely on a badger and transferred it to the groundhog. no idea if that’s true or not, so don’t quote me 🙂

    i’m just really glad that the days are getting lighter!!

    • 6 clairesuzanne February 4, 2010 at 3:54 pm

      I am somehow completely unsurprised that it’s a German tradition. They come up with a lot of great things: Oktoberfest, pretzels, etc. I feel like badgers and groundhogs could fit well into their repetoire of traditions.


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


