A view from the Islands

I’ve returned to the land of ice and snow and have only photos of my first ever Caribbean vacation to keep me company (and the boyfriend, he’s good company too, usually). With a small hope that photos may make us all feel a little warmer and to make you all jealous of my Caribbean vacation to share all the wonderful things I did, may I now present a hodge-podge of photos from my trip that follow no particular time-line photo essay:

A view of Little Tobago Island from Tobago Island.

Trinidad landscape. From the Asa Write Bird Sanctuary. Yep. I went ‘birding’ while on my Caribbean vacation. I was with my mom and she likes birds… a lot.

The coolest thing we saw at said Bird Sanctuary. For those unaware, this is not a bird. It is a tiger lizard and it was like 2 feet long! I’m sure my mother disagrees with me and she probably thinks the coolest thing we saw at the bird sanctuary was some time of bird, but she is slightly confused.

Me, trying really hard to get excited about the birds.

My mom, sister and I. Hangin’ with the birds.

My sister and I jet skiing. Not shown in photo: My mom suffering from extreme heart palpitations, hand wringing and mild hyperventilation brought on by a panic attack. Apparently, she doesn’t think we can drive all that well.

My sister and her boyfriend, snorkeling away.

Argyle Falls (I think) in Tobago. My sister, her boyfriend and I climbed to the top of this (along a steep and treacherous path not shown in the photo). It’s hard to tell how big it is, but check out that small man in the bottom left. he is not miniature, it’s just a big waterfall. Not Niagara Falls big, but big enough that I’m still sore from my exertions to get to the top – even though it was totally worth it!

It was a really fabulous trip. I got to see where my sister lives and works. I got to meet some of her friends and her boyfriend’s family and I got to slather myself in SPF 45 every 15 minutes. I couldn’t ask for anything more!

7 Responses to “A view from the Islands”


  1. 1 Jessica February 1, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    Gorgeous! Looks like you guys had fun.

  2. 2 ria February 1, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    it worked, i’m definitely jealous. it looks beautiful there. i’m glad you had a good trip!

  3. 3 Amy --- Just A Titch January 29, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    Those photos make me ridiculously jealous!

  4. 4 Kate Cowan January 29, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    Come back please … I want another excuse to head to Tobago and lay on the beach … it is all Work Work Work now that you are gone.

  5. 5 Erin January 29, 2010 at 10:59 am

    So… does your skin have the complexion of a lobster now?

    • 6 clairesuzanne January 29, 2010 at 11:38 am

      Nope. I’m only slightly less pasty than before. I was very careful and actually applied SPF 45 or 30 every half hour or so. I’m terrified of getting burned. Terrified enough to accept my pasty status. I do recommend spray sunscreen, it’s so much easier to apply.

  6. 7 thelocalguide January 28, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    Wow, it sounds excellent. And thx for sharing those great photos in such a good resolution 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


