Not even Indianna Jones can save me

I made it here safe and sound! (for those unaware, I’m visiting my sister in Trinidad).

The flight was rather uneventful (luckily there were no gum chewers) and so far everything has been great.

The day started out normally enough. My sis’ boyfriend toured us around the town where they live. We met my big sis at her work and I got to see where she works and meet her co-workers. All things you take for granted when your siblings live close.

We had a lovely dinner with my sis’ boyfriend’s family. His family is lovely and although I found it sort of difficult to understand his father and brother’s accents, dinner was great. Great up until the point where we discussed our plans for the rest of the trip.

My mother is an avid bird-watcher (don’t hold it against her, she is a lovely person) and since Trinidad is a world-renowned bird-watching place, that’s the game plan for tomorrow.

As we relayed the information about the 2 bird tours we’re going on tomorrow to the sis’ bf”s family, I learned a few things I would rather have not known.

As I did not inherit my mother’s love for our feathered friends, I was never all that excited about our plans for the day. However, I figured it wouldn’t be that bad and at least it would be warm. However, my feelings about tomorrow have completely changed now that I have some local insight into the afternoon tour we have planned.

The afternoon tour is a swamp tour in the evening and it’s where you can see big flocks of Trinidad’s national bird (the Scarlet Isis) coming in for the night. Woo-hoo, you’d think, pretty, brightly coloured birds.

Unfortunately, this swamp also features a species which is well known around the world. It is often depicted as the bearer of all things evil and Indianna Jones is no fan.

I, like my good friend Indianna, am also no fan. But tomorrow, I have been warned, I will be up close and personal with the many SNAKES that inhabit the swamp. According to my sources, they are most often found up in the trees – the same trees the boats pass underneath!

I’m having flashes of the future in which I am the star in a horrible movie sequal called: SNAKES ON A BOAT! Unfortunately, in these premonitions, there is no foul-mouthed Samuel L. Jackson to save me.

I was also informed that Trinidad is home to one of the biggest snakes in the world. A snake that swallows people whole: The ANACONDA!

My fears of jellyfish and sharks seem completely petty and ridiculous at this point. I’d take 10 jellyfish and 3 sharks over an Anaconda any day of the week. And yet tomorrow, I may come face to face with Mr. Anaconda himself .

Wish me luck.

3 Responses to “Not even Indianna Jones can save me”


  1. 1 CE Webster January 23, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    Sounds like you’re in for a treat. Can’t wait for the next post!

  2. 2 Michelle January 23, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    That’s so adventurous of you 😛
    and terrifying at the same time.. well have lots of fun and report back to us shortly so we know ‘IT’ hasn’t gotten you..yet.
    At least sharks can’t fall in your boat.
    good luck!

  3. 3 Erin January 22, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    I don’t mind snakes, but put legs on them and make them into giant centipedes and I would cry.


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


