Adios Amigos!

My bags are packed, my passport is ready, I’ve got the ticket and I’m ready to go.

I’m off to see my sister and I am very excited. My sister, you see, lives in Trinidad. As in, the Trinidad in the Caribbean. As in the Trinidad with the warm, sunny weather and accompanying island (Tobago) with beautiful beaches. She has lived there off and on for almost 4 years and I have yet to go visit her. There is really no excuse for this and therefore, I leave tomorrow.

My mom and I are going to visit her and man, that island better be ready!

I’m excited about so many things about this trip:

  • It will be my first time going ‘south’ for a winter vacation
  • I’ve never been to the Caribbean
  • I’m going to get to see where my sister lives and meet all her friends
  • We’re also going to Tobago to a beach resort – I’ve never been to a real beach resort (I went to a pseudo-beach resort in India, but the beach was surrounded by fishermen and we slept on mats on the floor, not really resort-like)

There are also a few things I’m a little nervous about:

  • Flying while still fighting off the remnants of an ear infection (bring on the painkillers!)
  • Wearing a bathing suit and showing my pasty white legs in public
  • Getting a sunburn (I’ve got SPF 45 packed and ready to go. I considered making a holster for it, but I don’t want to look like a tourist)
  • Snorkeling – I like swimming and I love canoeing, but I really am a little frightened of the water, especially the OCEAN! There are SHARKS in there! And JELLYFISH!!! I guarantee that it won’t end well if anything even thinks about swimming towards me or brushing up against me. In this case, that holster might have come in handy.

I’ll try to keep you updated on the status of my relationship with the ocean. I will also try to avoid hurting anything endangered. But, if it’s getting up in my grill, I can’t make any promises.

What I can promise is to not miss the cold, snowy weather for one second while I’m there. I will bask in that sun with my floppy hat, protective shirt and SPF45 sunscreen like there’s no tomorrow!

4 Responses to “Adios Amigos!”


  1. 1 ria January 22, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    take lots of pictures!

  2. 2 Erin January 21, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    I am uber jealous. That’s right, uber.
    When I was south, the locals made fun of my pastiness, as in jokingly telling me to put on more sunscreen.
    Have you never snorkeled before? It’s pretty great once you get past the initial panicky feeling. One of the first times I went they drove us 5 miles out in a boat and set us loose, which was okay until someone told me those bigass fish under me were barracudas. I had enough snorkeling after that. The rest of the times I went were much better, with picky urchins being my only fear. The sights at coral reefs make it totally worth the scary stuff though!


  1. 1 Not even Indianna Jones can save me « To be determined Trackback on January 22, 2010 at 9:41 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


