When old meets new

Yesterday I had a wonderful time with two friends. One new. One old (not old as in elderly, but old as in we’ve known each other for a long time).

Neither friend had met the other before and I don’t know about you, but these types of situations always make me nervous. These are the thoughts that run through my head:

What if my old friend doesn’t like my new friend. What if she thinks I’ve changed and am now hanging out with weirdos? –For the record, my new friend is not a weirdo…most days.

What if my new friend thinks my old friend is a weirdo? What if my old friend tells an embarrassing story about me and my new friend thinks said embarrassing story is a dealbreaker and because of that we can no longer be friends?

What if they hate each other? Is it possible for two people that I like a lot to hate each other?

What if I look funny?

FYI: That last thought is something that runs through my head prior to most social engagements, it’s not limited to the new friend-old friend scenario.

Fortunately, new friend and old friend got along swimmingly and we all had a wonderful time (the boyfriend, included) ogling Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law in Sherlock Holmes.

Aside from the fun times, this occasion also reminded me of another time in my life. You see, my old friend and I were able to regale my new friend with stories of our past. The past that we share happens to revolve around one place: sleep-away summer camp. This old friend and I used to attend and work at a summer camp for years together and we have lots of great stories.

Not only was I able to take a trip down memory lane with an old friend, but I was also able to entertain my new friend with ridiculous stories of  dressing up as dragons, being chased by vans dressed up as boulders (indeed it is true that vehicles can dress up), children who were glorious angels and, more commonly, children who were absolute brats, bed-peeing, shoeless brats who ask entertaining questions like: “why do some girls wear shirts that show their boob-cracks?”

You can’t beat that.

This old friend may, or may not, reside Down the Rabbit Hole.

7 Responses to “When old meets new”


  1. 1 sleepyjane January 19, 2010 at 4:17 am

    Boob crack? That’s classic! lol

    I used to have two friends that didn’t get along AT ALL. It really sucked.

    • 2 clairesuzanne January 19, 2010 at 2:22 pm

      I don’t even remember how I answered that question. I do remember double checking and feeling relieved that I was wearing a t-shirt that provided full coverage.

  2. 3 Jamie January 18, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    That is always in interesting (and nervewracking) situation. I’m glad it turned out well for you!

  3. 4 ria January 18, 2010 at 10:08 am

    it’s always a little nerve wracking to see if your new and old friends get along. I’m glad it turned out well 🙂

  4. 5 clairesuzanne January 18, 2010 at 8:12 am

    Indeed, both Jay and Erin speak the truth.

  5. 6 Erin January 17, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    Awe, thanks, Jay!
    Claire, I usually expect people you know to be weirdos, because, you know, you’re kinda a weirdo. 😛
    I loved the movie and I loved hanging out with you guys and I loved how horrified she was at our camp stories!

  6. 7 Jay January 17, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    I’m always a little apprehensive when I have to bring together different circles of friends. If handled well it usually turns out great but it totally has potential to blow up in your face leave you with an awkward evening out.

    Suppose it helps that Erin’s easy to get along with.


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


