A writing assignment

I originally started this blog as a place for me to write of things other than what is required of me at work. I write a lot at work and I truly enjoy my job. I write informative articles about technical and scientific things. But shockingly, I like writing about things other than tractors and corn heat units. Hence, the blog.

However, one thing I have never really tried to write is fiction. I always excelled in school with essays and book reviews, but I don’t ever remember writing fiction.

I don’t know if I’d be very good at writing fiction. I don’t know if I have the patience or the creativity to come up with entire characters and interesting plots. But, by golly I’m going to try.

The other day, a friend told me of a writing assignment she was given in Grade 9 English class. The teacher told each of the students to pick a letter of the alphabet. The teacher then proceeded to hand out a copy of Edward Gorey’s poem, the Gashlycrumb Tinies. (If you, like me earlier today, are unaware of this poem, click the link and read it, it won’t take long and it will be worth it, I promise). Each student had to write a story that explained their letter’s portion of the poem.

Souce: Wikipedia

My questionable sense of humour resulted in me immediately falling in love with this poem and the accompanying illustrations.

As of right now, this is my new personal writing assignment. I am going to try my hand at writing fiction and I am going to start with the letters of this poem. I don’t promise to post my final stories here. I am really uncertain of my ability to do this. But I promise to try. And you never know, maybe I’ll like one of the stories enough to share it with all of you.

1 Response to “A writing assignment”


  1. 1 Erin January 16, 2010 at 12:57 am

    Oh I love Edward Gorey!!


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


