Fake it till you make it

It’s been a busy week at work full of late nights, last minute meetings, rapid-fire emails and lots of coffee. It’s nothing I haven’t handled before and it’s not exactly a surprise. This frantic week comes at the same time every month (thanks to a strict editorial calendar) and I’m usually pretty prepared for it.

I was just as prepared for it this month as I was last, but this time around I noticed something peculiar. How I handle this stress has changed, or perhaps evolved. I don’t know when these changes started happening and I don’t know if it’s a good thing or a bad thing. Mostly, I’m just trying to think that these changes are rather comical.*

I have now begun to handle stress with an inappropriately positive and cocky attitude.

For instance, earlier this week a conversation with a co-worker started like this:

Co-worker: Hey Claire, I have a question for you.

Claire (with a huge smile): Awesome! I have the answer.

And a few days ago, another conversation with another co-worker began this way:

Other co-worker: Hey Claire, how’s the magazine going?

Claire (with so much exuberance it’s shocking): AMAZING! It’s going to be the most awesome one yet!

And just today, these exact words came out of my mouth:

Yet another co-worker: Hey Claire, I have a question for you.

Claire (with enthusiasm coming out her wah-hoo): Good. I have ALL THE ANSWERS.

Now, let me be clear: in the first case, I had no idea what they were going to ask or whether or not I knew the answer. At the time of the second situation I was borderline panicking about said magazine. And in the third situation, well, I know it may be a shock to some, but I do not have all the answers.

You see, I’ve noticed that I have increasingly started to handle stress with reckless arrogance. The more stressed I get, the more I exaggerate the awesome-ness of everything around me.

Fortunately, I’m fairly certain that my co-workers know me well enough to understand that I am not actually that arrogant. Also, I think this seemingly automatic response is mostly coming from the fact that I know from experience that it will all turn out. I mean, this is the cycle of my job. I’ve been through this stress before and so far, everything has actually turned out well. It hasn’t always turned out super-fantastic-amazing-like, but it’s always turned out well. I don’t think I’m so far gone that I wouldn’t know when to ask for help and move on to Plan B.

In fact, I think I’m going to chalk it up to a ‘fake it till you make it’ attitude. So far, that attitude has proven itself as the best and only way to get through this whole ‘working in the real world’ thing. So, I think I’m going to stick with it, for now.

In the meantime, I just wanted to let everyone know that I am doing super-awesome-fantastic-like and everything in my life, work included, is running as smoothly as a bullet train in Japan.

*I’m starting to think that my rosy outlook on these changes in my stress-management may actually be a symptom of my new found stress-management techniques.

3 Responses to “Fake it till you make it”


  1. 1 Erin January 16, 2010 at 12:59 am

    Hehe, I can picture you saying things like that, possibly at camp when we were super stressed out about something that now would seem entirely un-stressful!

    • 2 clairesuzanne January 16, 2010 at 9:15 am

      Like this:
      “Of course I’m having the best time of my life! Who wouldn’t want to deal with an upturned canoe, a child who has crapped their pants and a misbehaving 12 year old who is desperately trying to sneak away with the boys all at the same time! I love this!”

      In fact, now that you mention this, I think I’ve figured out where this coping mechanism started. I blame camp.


  1. 1 Best BluRay Disc Trackback on January 14, 2010 at 10:33 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


