The best winter has to offer

For Christmas, my wonderful parents bought the boyfriend and I cross country skis. Pretty awesome gift in my books and this past weekend, we got a chance to try them out.

I am happy to report that I only fell once twice 2.5 times.

However, this is the view I saw for most of our excursion:

That’s the boyfriend’s back. Please note the backpack full of snacks, water and a first aid kit. Cause, if you’re going for a 2 hour excursion it is best to pack enough food to last you several days and a first aid kit, if you happen to be adventuring with my klutzy self.

This is the look that awaits me when I finally catch up. It’s a mixture of exasperation, understanding and encouragement, if that mixture is even possible. There also may be a little relief in that look as I have not fallen down and first aid is not required.

Please note the awesome, high-end neck gear the boyfriend is rockin.’ I mean, come on, a standard winter scarf is definitely not cool enough for this dude. He rocks the bandanna. Back off, ladies, he’s mine. No, seriously, don’t even think about it.

One of my favourite things about any sort of out-door adventure in my area is the scenery. Man, I love me a good farm scene. Really, give me a red barn, a handful of silos and an old brick house and I’m in heaven. If you throw in some cows, I may just drool.

More farm love. Even though it looks pretty (at least I think it does) that corn in the field probably shouldn’t be there. Farmers in my area had a tough harvest and wet weather meant many couldn’t harvest at all. This farmer will have to wait until spring to get in the field now and the quality of the corn won’t be as good. There’s your Fun Farm Fact of the day.

On a lighter and ending note, check me out, not falling:

This weekend gave me the best winter has to offer. It made the blizzard outside my office a little more palatable today.

5 Responses to “The best winter has to offer”


  1. 1 Paula January 12, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    Wow, the snow looks great! Here in Scotland, we have a pile of icy slush right now. I hate it and just want it to go away.

  2. 2 ria January 12, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    what an awesome christmas gift! looks like a perfect day for cross country skiing.

  3. 3 Erin January 11, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    How do you half fall?

  4. 5 John January 11, 2010 at 9:23 pm

    Looks like fun. My wife and I keep talking about getting cross-country skis, but still haven’t gotten around to it. Of course, we have a 3-year-old to worry about too, so don’t know how that would work. I also love the farm scenes.


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


