The good, the bad and the ugly. Or, a winter wonderland of whining

Things I am totally on-board with in terms of winter:

  • Snow! The soft, fluffy kind. I got cross country skis for Christmas and I am in desperate need of soft fluffy snow in order to pad my ass when it hits the ground repeatedly.
  • Copious amounts of hot chocolate
  • Fuzzy slippers
  • Flannel sheets (except when they make me too hot and I can’t sleep
  • Warm baths
  • Staying in and not feeling like I’m wasting a Friday night because “baby, it’s cold outside.”

Things I’m not a huge fan of but can totally deal with without crying like a baby:

  • Looking lame as I go to work with my nice dress pants tucked into my winter boots and shoving my nice heels into my bag
  • Scraping the snow and ice from my windshield. I accept that I live in Canada and this is a requirement
  • Maintaining a supply of chapstick in every possible location I may need it (ie: purse, car, desk at work, other purse, beside the bed, in the kitchen, in the bathroom, pocket of sweater, corner of entertainment unit, under the seat of my car, etc).

Things that make me consider abandoning my Canadian heritage and universal healthcare by moving to a warmer climate (Texas sounds nice):

  • Dry skin – I swear to god, small children and those with questionable intelligence may mistake my legs for the legs of a small, scaly dinosaur that hasn’t roamed the earth since that huge asteroid started an ice age. I wish I could bath in Vaseline Intensive Care lotion for a minimum of 3 hours per day.
  • Static – also related to the dryness but an entirely different beast. My hair and clothes are so static-y I could probably power a small city, like Oshawa or Moose Jaw.  I see actual sparks fly on a daily basis. I am my own little-lightening creator!
10 Responses to “The good, the bad and the ugly. Or, a winter wonderland of whining”


  1. 1 ria January 8, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    i hate the dry skin and cracked lips. i also hate the nasty driving conditions. i love snow when it’s falling and i’m watching it from my window with nowhere to go 🙂

  2. 3 Kate Cowan January 7, 2010 at 10:42 am

    Sounds like you need to move south – or start buying Static Gard in bulk!

  3. 5 Jessica January 7, 2010 at 12:27 am

    I cannot deal with my dry skin this season! It’s worse than ever. I hate it 😦

    Oh, and I totally love staying in on weekends and not feeling bad about it at all.

    • 6 clairesuzanne January 8, 2010 at 3:04 pm

      The best lotion I have found is Lubriderm. It’s better than Vaseline Intensive Care. It doesn’t smell fancy like those flowery body butters, but my goodness it moisturizes with minimal oily-ness.

  4. 7 Erin January 6, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    My couch creates crazy amounts of static, my poor cat gets the brunt of it.
    Posting about my couch on every one of your posts may or may not be me sending you subliminal messages to come visit me.

    • 8 clairesuzanne January 8, 2010 at 3:04 pm

      How long can you keep this up? If I didn’t want to come visit so badly I might consider holding out just to see how creative you can get with couch comments.

  5. 9 walkingonsunshine18 January 6, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    I know what you mean about the lame pant tuck in boot look… but it’s so worth it in the end

    • 10 clairesuzanne January 8, 2010 at 3:02 pm

      I resisted it all last winter because I was too cool. This year, I came to my senses and at even the mention of snow, the boots come out and the pants get tucked in. It’s made my life so much better (aside from that guy who gives me weird looks as I walk the 20 feet from my car to my office, I could do without him).


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


