Family matters

Typically, I’m the type of girl that’s in bed by 10pm reading and asleep by 10:30. Even on weekends, I can usually be found in bed by a reasonable hour. I’m the girl who tries to leave the bar in time to take the last bus home (in my little city, that’s like 12:45). Overall, I am not a nightowl.

Unfortunately, I’m not an early bird either. I am more of a mid-morning, early afternoon type of person. I think my most productive time of day is from 10am to 2pm.

But, this all flies out the window when I’m home (aka: visiting my parents). In the past 5 days, I have stayed up past 3am twice and slept into 11am at least 3 times.

My family likes to party. My hard-partying days in university probably pale into comparison to my sister’s, brother’s or even (and most especially) my father’s.

I spent Saturday night at my uncle’s drinking martinis and jamming to good ole’ 90’s tunes via youtube. The night was littered with Smashing Pumpkins, Meredith Brooks, Dennis Leary (link is probably not safe for work or small children) and Blind Melon. There was also a healthy mix of Lady Gaga, Beyonce and Rhianna involved.

Sunday was spent recouperating and by Monday, the family was back in the saddle. My sister arrived home on Monday night (she lives in Trinidad) and the evening continued well into the wee hours of the morning. As so often happens when my siblings are home, we stayed up late with a nightcap or two (or 4) and solved all the world’s problems. My dad is particularly fond of these evenings. My siblings and I, although we usually get a long pretty well, are all very different.

My sister is very much a world traveller. She travels internationaly a lot for her work and as I previously mentioned, lives in Trinidad.

My brother, on the other hand, is very much a home-body. He currently lives in a big city, but is anxious for when his fiance is done school so they can move back to our small (very small) hometown. He has plans to settle down in the same town he grew up in and teach at the highschool (he’s an excellent teacher, one of thos teacher’s that really loves their job).

Me, I’m somewhere in the middle. I like to travel, but I also like to be home. When I travel, one of my favourite parts is coming home.

These differences have certainly caused some tension in the past, as I’m sure happens with all siblings. But it also leads to great conversation. I love hearing their different viewpoints on topics.

Christmas is one of my favourite times of year. Although we don’t always get along, I really love spending time with my family and I’m willing to stay up until 3am to do so.

1 Response to “Family matters”


  1. 1 Erin December 27, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    Oh that sounds nice. My family doesn’t really drink much, so I’m kinda jealous of families that party together.


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


