Best of 2009: Tea of the year

I’m doing the Best of 2009. Check it out and do it with me.

December 16 Tea of the year. I can taste my favorite tea right now. What’s yours?

I love tea. I’ve been drinking tea since I was about 4 and it’s always been a calming influence in my life. It’s the drink I go to when I’m upset, anxious, not feeling well, or cold. It’s also my drink of choice when chatting with friends or doing just about anything else.

That being said, I feel a little guilty about my life with tea this past year. This past year, I got a coffee-maker and I sort of feel like I’ve been waking up to the ‘other woman.’ I only started liking coffee a few years ago and now it’s a big part of my life. Unfortunately, I’d venture to say that it’s taken tea’s place in parts of my life.

Tea is still top dog when it comes to an afternoon or early evening hot beverage. And it’s still tea that I offer first when friends come to visit. But the drink certainly doesn’t have as bright of a spotlight in my life anymore.

Despite my years-long relationship with this glorious beverage, I’m a pretty boring tea drinker. I stick closely to black teas. I don’t stray into the herbal camp because a lot of them upset my stomach and I don’t have a lot of experience with some of the new trendy teas like rooibos and white tea. I have some experience with chai as I spent some time in India and I really miss the amazing tea there.

But mostly, my tea of choice is good ole’ orange pekoe (which my brother pronounces ‘orange pee-ko-y’). When I do want something a little fancier, I do one of two things:

1. I put the tiniest drop of vanilla extract into my cup of orange pekoe or,

2. I make a pot of Zhena’s Gypsy Tea Raspberry Earl Grey .

A friend bought me this tea as an ‘anytime gift’ from the states and I fell in love. I still have her pick me up some when she’s in Michigan because I can’t find it anywhere in Canada. It’s delicious stuff!

Aside from the lovely taste and warming feeling, the thing I like best about tea, any tea, is the social aspect. I love sitting down to a cuppa with a good friend and enjoying a good chat. I wish ‘afternoon tea’ was still something that was common in our culture. In India, most families always sit down for afternoon tea and it is no small affair. There is a specific way to make the tea, a specific way to serve the tea, a specific way to drink the tea and everyone in the family is always present. You do not miss afternoon tea in an Indian household (or at least the ones I was in). I wish we did that here.

7 Responses to “Best of 2009: Tea of the year”


  1. 1 Rae December 17, 2009 at 10:15 am

    Ooh, TEA! I must try your favourite sometime soon.

    I’m in love with Tega Rooibos this year, both the original (red) and the passion fruit versions. Amazing! If you ever see it in your organic aisle, you have to try it, ‘kay? Promise me! 😛

  2. 3 Erin December 16, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    Tea is weird. Weirdo.
    By that I mean, everything I don’t like is weird.

  3. 5 ria December 16, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    ohhh i never thought to put vanilla in my cup! good thinking 🙂

  4. 6 ehwhatsthis December 16, 2009 at 11:10 am

    I don’t really drink tea, so I don’t have a favourite. I like it, but I don’t know it just never comes to mind as something to have.

    I do love vanilla. That orange one is from Tim Horton’s isn’t it? We use to have a ton of it in the back room at Roots.

    • 7 clairesuzanne December 16, 2009 at 11:39 am

      Yep, orange pekoe is the one Timmy’s serves as their standard black tea.

      If you’re not such a huge fan of tea, but love vanilla, seriously try adding a few drops to regular black tea with a little milk. Don’t use too much though, you only need a teensy drop but it makes it taste completely different!


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


