Best of 2009: Rush

I’m doing the Best of 2009. Check it out and do it with me!

December 14 Rush. When did you get your best rush of the year?

My rush did not come from any sort of extreme sports activity, it did not comes from taking any huge leaps of faith or making any split-second decisions. No, my rush came from a carefully planned and meticulously executed task.

Before I tell you about this great rush, I first need to give you some background.

I’ve been debating with myself for a while about how much to reveal on this blog about my work because it’s the internet and OMG people get fired for stuff like that! But the reality is, many of the people I work with are internet and social media savvy. If they happened across this site, they would know immediately who I was and I’m ok with that. I don’t plan on talking about work a lot, but I’ve decided that I can at least tell you what I do.

I work in agriculture and I am the editor of a farming magazine. Yep, a whole magazine devoted to farming (there are actually A LOT of magazines devoted to farming, shocking, I know). I love my job and I love the magazine and it factors strongly into my rush of the year.

This year, the magazine expanded considerably. We changed the name and expanded our focus. With all these changes came a complete re-vamp of both the look and the content of the magazine. With the help of a lot of other people I worked on the project to completely redesign the magazine. We agonized over colour choices, fonts and layouts. For the first issue, we spent meticulous hours choosing stories, researching stories, writing stories, sourcing photos, combing through drafts, consulting style guides, editing spelling and grammar and double checking spelling and grammar. I’ve put a magazine together before, but this one was more important that your average issue. This was the FIRST issue and it had to be PERFECT. There was lots of work leading up to that one day when the final draft was complete.

Handing the draft to the printer was both exhilarating and terrifying. It was the feeling I imagine rock climbers get when they lunge for that hold just beyond their reach. Running through my head were thoughts of “did we correct that bi-line, did we fix that spacing, did I spell that name right.” I was full of terror and excitement. There was a lot riding on that magazine, my career included (this is probably a huge exaggeration, but it’s too dramatic to exclude).

That feeling of excitement and fear lasted for the four days it took at the printer. Typically with a magazine, once it’s gone to the printer, I don’t think about it anymore. But I awaited this one’s return anxiously.

When it arrived, I could barely look at it I was so terrified. I was terrified I had spelt the headline wrong on the front cover (I spelt ‘intelligence’ wrong in a headline once). Luckily, the cover looked great and no one spotted any other foibles. Or, if they did find a mistake they were too terrified to tell me.

Getting that first issue out is one of my greatest accomplishments so far. It was terrifying and exciting all at the same time. During the week leading up to the print deadline and the wait for the printed copy to arrive, I bounced back and forth between thinking I was going to vomit and resisting the urge to jump up and down shrieking like a 14-year-old girl.

Altogether, it was an awesome rush.

With each following issue, the rush decreased just a bit. Finally, one day, about two weeks ago, I realized that the latest issue was back from the printer. It had been sitting on my desk and I’d barely noticed it. I was already hip deep in the upcoming issue and I no longer had time to ooh and ahh. The rush wears off, but I still remember the feeling of the first one.

1 Response to “Best of 2009: Rush”


  1. 1 Erin December 14, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    You’re adorable!


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


