Best of 2009: New Food

I’m doing the Best of 2009. Check it out and do it with me.

December 12 New food. You’re now in love with Lebanese food and you didn’t even know what it was in January of this year.

This one is really easy for me, but also really embarrassing. You see, I am an incredibly picky eater. It is something that has plagued me all my life and it apparently runs in the family. My sister is a picky eater, probably more so than me, and recently I have unearthed that my dad is a picky eater too, he prefers to stick to the standards like PB&J and roast beef (but not together, that’s gross).

Being a picky eater is a huge challenge that can easily take over your life. Thinking about working lunches and dinner with friends is enough to stress me out. It’s a constant balancing act of eating enough so that you don’t offend anyone and trying desperately not to gag on the Quiche/cannelloni/risotto/curry/baked beans/goat cheese pizza/sandwich with more than 2 toppings/chili/soup (this list could go on for a very long time, I’ll stop here).

The point is, there are a lot of foods I do not like. The other point is, I hate offending people. I hate being the person who makes people think they’re a bad cook because, the reality is, they are probably a GREAT cook. My taste buds are just very primitive.

But, I’m trying. I’m trying really, really hard. Since moving in with the boyfriend, I no longer have a diet of roasted potatoes and pork chops. I’ve expanded the list of ‘food I like’ by a lot and I am increasingly willing to try new things.

There are 2 new foods that have entered my life this year and really made some big changes. The first one is mashed potatoes. I’ve always loved potatoes, but the texture of mashed potatoes always turned me off. I remember being young and watched my sister spit them out on her plate, maybe that has something to do with my aversion to the now staple food in my kitchen (she still doesn’t like mashed potatoes, by the way). I’ve always been able to eat them, but it used to fall into that category of “eat as little as possible and move them around on your plate so it appears you’ve eaten more.” That is until this year. This year I embraced mashed potatoes. I don’t know what changed, but now they are a definite staple in my house.

The other food on my list of ‘new foods’ is equally embarrassing: tomatoes. I’ve always enjoyed tomato sauces and salsa (not a huge fan of ketchup, but I don’t dislike it) but I’ve never actually enjoyed whole tomatoes. If they were in a salad, I would eat around them. If they appeared on my burger, I would brush them off, careful not to let the juicy innards ooze onto the bun. But this year, the Boyfriend convinced me to try them. The first bite was ok. It certainly wasn’t love at first bite. But by the second and third bite, I was sold. Following that discovery I had a toasted tomato sandwich every day for two weeks.

Overall, I’m really proud of my improved eating habits. I know they may seem like incredibly miniscule baby steps towards enjoying more exotic foods like curry and sushi, but to me, they were huge giant leaps; one small step for mankind, one giant leap for Claire.

4 Responses to “Best of 2009: New Food”


  1. 1 ria December 13, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    i used to hate mushrooms, the texture and smell grossed me out but i tried them again and i actually like them…a lot!

    • 2 clairesuzanne December 13, 2009 at 5:41 pm

      That’s such a good feeling. And also a little depressing. I always think about how many years I wasted thinking that I didn’t like tomatoes. Although I’m still not on the mushroom loveboat, maybe I’ll dip my toe in the water next time it passes by.

  2. 3 Erin December 12, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    I am impressed! 2 new foods!? That is almost as big as the time you started liking pizza!

    • 4 clairesuzanne December 13, 2009 at 5:42 pm

      I consider pizza like 8 foods because there are so many parts to it. But, it’s sort of a false win because even when I didn’t like pizza, I still liked a lot of things involved in pizza: dough, tomato sauce, cheese (only when melted), bacon, pineapple, garlic dipping sauce, etc.

      So technically I should only count it as one, but it was still a huge win for me.


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


