Best of 2009: Place

I’m doing the Best of 2009 Blog Challenge.

December 11 The best place. A coffee shop? A pub? A retreat center? A cubicle? A nook?

My initial reaction to this question is to talk about my favourite pub. But, the reality is that the pub, although great, isn’t the best place. For me, the best place of 2009 is the same as the best place of 2008 and the best place of 2007 and the best place of 2006, etc.

That place for me is home. Although I am increasingly loving and feeling at home in my apartment, home to me is still my parents home. Yes, I moved out 6 years ago and yes, my mother in all her crazy loving neat freak ways has purged the place of all my stuff, but it is still home.

To give you some background, before I moved to University, I had lived in the same place all my life. My parents bought the house about 25 years ago and they are still there. It’s a beautiful house on about 3 acres in a neighbourhood in the middle of the countryside called Sleepy Hollow. Yep, that’s right folks, I grew up in Sleepy Hollow. It’s small neighbourhood right on Lake Erie. The best way to describe it is like a campground. It’s all dirt roads and ravines and bush and in each clearing there is a house. It’s about a 10 minute drive through the countryside to the nearest town and a 20 minute drive to a town large enough for things like movie theatres and espressos. The neighbours are all friends and get together often.

We have a Canada Day parade every year complete with decorated riding lawn mowers, fire trucks and a pot luck. We have the Winter Olympics every year which feature such events as hockey stick-golf in the snow and log sawing.

Growing up I had access to countless ravines (actually I think there are about 4) a lake, a huge cliff, cherry orchards, vineyards and a sweet tree house. Thinking back, it was an awesome childhood in the Hollow. But I’m sure while I was living it I was all “I’m bored, there’s nothing to do” – age 5 and “why can’t I live in town where all my friends are” – age 12. I don’t think I realized how awesome that place was until I left for university. It still depresses me sometimes knowing that I’ll never have a house in a neighbourhood like that because I don’t think there are any other neighbourhoods like that (I’d move back there, but there aren’t many job opportunities in the small surrounding towns).

But now that I’ve told you all about this awesome place, I need to show it to you (although not all the photos will be from 09).

Matt and I in one of the ravines in the spring of 09.

My house in the late summer – ignore the bare patch of ground – we had some septic tank issues that required digging up the lawn.

The stairs to the beach. I remember when we built these stairs. I was about 8 and I helped carry lumber to all the neighbours who were helping build it.

My mom and dad walking down Sleep Hollow Rd. You can’t quite see it, but there is a ravine on either side of the road, definitely only room for one car, one way. It’s not usually a problem, it’s a dead end road that is technically private.

Man, I love that place. I’m going home this weekend and I’m excited!

3 Responses to “Best of 2009: Place”


  1. 1 ria December 13, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    definitely an awesome place! i’m jealous.

  2. 2 walkingonsunshine18 December 11, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    I think that’s so cool that your favorite place is home… it would be my favorite place too if my house looked like that! 🙂

  3. 3 Erin December 11, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    Your parents live in the coolest place!


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


