Discovering the countryside

I’m skipping out on the Best of 2009 Blog Challenge today. Dec 8th was supposed to be: Moment of Peace.

I’m sure I will read lots of other bloggers that write amazing stories of epiphanies and calmness and the such. But, I’m not good at that sort of stuff (not the actual moments of peace, the writing about said moments of peace. Although, now that I think about it, I’m not very good at the moments either).

So, in it’s place, I’m going to show you some photos of where I live. I live in Guelph, a medium sized city about an hour from Toronto. It’s a lovely town and it’s surrounded by awesome trails, conservation areas, parks, and farmland (I love farmland!). This has been the first year where I’ve actually made an effort to explore the places around my city. I’ve lived here for five years now and it’s shameful that I’m just now discovering a lot of it. But, for four of those years I was a university student happily existing in the bubble that is university life. Now, my bubble has popped and it’s really pretty out here.

Without further ado:

At a lookout off County Rd 21, North of Guelph

Also at the lookout off County Rd 21, don’t know which river this is and google maps won’t tell me.

At Mount Nemo overlooking the escarpment. It’s a bit of a drive from Guelph (closer to Burlington) but it’s worth it.

More Nemo

On the Elora-Cataract Trail north of Guelph.

I’m a sucker for nice barns. The Elora-Cataract Trail goes through all sorts of forest and farmland. It’s awesome and I highly recommend it for an afternoon walk. It goes on for miles and I’ve only walked a small section, I have plans to explore it all.

See, the trail makes us happy. Ignore my “I’m a super model and therefore don’t smile pose,” I’m smiling with my eyes, Tyra would be proud.

3 Responses to “Discovering the countryside”


  1. 1 Erin December 9, 2009 at 12:14 am

    Looks nice!
    And yes, Tyra would be proud.

  2. 2 ria December 8, 2009 at 11:56 am

    i want to be there now haha

  3. 3 Jessica December 8, 2009 at 10:49 am

    GORGEOUS photos, lady!


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


