Best of 2009: Workshop or Conference

December 6 Workshop or conference. Was there a conference or workshop you attended that was especially beneficial? Where was it? What did you learn?

Being new to the working world, this past year (and a bit) has been the first real opportunity I’ve had to attend conferences and workshops.

(Yes, I realize students go to conferences and workshops too, but I didn’t do anything like that as a student)

Therefore, just the fact that the organization I work for is willing to send me to conferences and workshops is amazing to me. For instance, last week, they flew me across the country to Vancouver and put me up in a fancy hotel for a conference.

The conference itself was very interesting and very intimidating. My industry is very male dominated and this conference was focused on a separate but related industry that is even more male dominated. There I was, one of about 2 dozen women in a room of 250 people. It was rather intimidating. But, I feel I held my own and I’m pretty proud that they decided to send me.

The best part was actually after the conference while waiting for my plane. I was at the airport with another woman from the conference and we got a chance to debrief a bit. It was nice to have an opportunity to chat about the conference; what we learned and what we thought.

It was a grown up moment and I felt that I definitely held my own.

2 Responses to “Best of 2009: Workshop or Conference”


  1. 1 clairesuzanne December 7, 2009 at 10:44 am

    Sometimes it rocks, sometimes it’s the lamest hours of your life. It’s really hit and miss.

  2. 2 ria December 7, 2009 at 9:33 am

    i’ve never been to a work conference…haha


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


