The Best of 2009: Night Out

December 5 Night out. Did you have a night out with friends or a loved one that rocked your world? Who was there? What was the highlight of the night?

This question is difficult for me. I wish I could say it’s difficult because there are soooo many great nights out this past year. But the reality is that I don’t go out much anymore. I no longer live in a house full of friends. I no longer am a full-time student who doesn’t think twice about going out on a Wednesday.* Therefore, I no longer go out all that often.

*Please note this is not entirely the truth. Even when I was a full-time student it took a lot to convince me to go out on a Wednesday cause, you know, it’s a school night and I’m studious like that.

However, despite being too few and too far between, there have been a handfull of totally rockin’ nights out this past year and there are 2 that immediately come to mind.

The first that came to mind was a night out in Toronto which was unofficially themed: Before You Make Your Promise to God (Erin from Down the Rabbit Hole wrote about it too). The idea was to peer pressure a soon-to-be-minister friend into doing inappropriate things before she made her promise to god (hence the name).

The evening had all the ingredients necessary for a successful night on the town: great friends, a ridiculous theme, red lipstick, pounding music, a busy bar and lots of dancing.

My soon-to-be-minister friend and I, all red lipsticked up!

Unfortunately, the only inappropriate thing we managed to convince our soon-to-be-minister friend to do was wear red lipstick and to most, this is a completely appropriate choice for a night on the town. Therefore, I think we failed at our theme.

Erin and I

However, we did utilize the theme well throughout the evening by confusing strangers by shouting out directions to our soon-to-be-minister friend such as: “Soon-to-be-minister friend, take this shot of tequila before you make your promise to god!”

This provided Erin and I endless enjoyment, consider the above photo as proof.

The second night that comes to mind involved the same group of people (plus or minus some). It was a friend’s birthday and it was my first introduction to karaoke. For someone who loves to belt it out in the car and loves being the centre of attention, I was surprisingly terrified of karaoke. I have an awful voice and submitting an entire bar full of people to the horror that is my singing was not something I was all that interested in doing.

However, with a little liquid courage and by doing the wimpy girl thing of begging a friend to do it with me, I belted it out. Not surprisingly, as I’ve already revealed my love of the spotlight, I loved it.

This is actually the best photo I have of my performance of the evening. If you look closely, you can see 3 people, I'm in the middle (I think).

5 Responses to “The Best of 2009: Night Out”


  1. 1 Melanie December 7, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    I enjoy that I attended both those nights. And the BYMYPTG night did involve more poor decisions… just none too over the top.
    And the Karaoke night ended up with me reprising our song (the one in the picture) to a total stranger (totally cute stranger might I add) in the elevator.
    When I return to Ontario, we need another night of awesome! I will be in Toronto all summer… you think we can swing it?

  2. 2 ehwhatsthis December 7, 2009 at 11:59 am

    They sound like so much fun!!

  3. 3 ria December 7, 2009 at 9:32 am

    looks like both nights were awesome. i do not go out much at all and i kind of like it that way haha 🙂

    • 4 clairesuzanne December 7, 2009 at 10:45 am

      Me too! I have become such a homebody, it’s unreal.

      I used to get depressed if I had no plans on a Fri or Sat night. Now-a-days, no plans on the weekend is pretty much an awesome weekend plan.

  4. 5 Erin December 5, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    Yess Karaoke was a close third!
    When did we get so lame? I think we did more fun stuff earlier in the year… Ben Folds and Craig Cardiff?
    We’ve apparently just gotten lame since the summer.
    This must be remedied.


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


