I made it! Phew!

I survived the flight and I am currently enjoying a bay view from bed in a nice hotel in downtown Vancouver. All my planning paid off. I didn’t spend the past 2 hours of the flight checking my watch every five minutes and I seemed to have made it through the time change in one piece.

Everything else went smoothly until I met my seatmates.

Sidenote: you don’t actually meet seatmates anymore. There are no formal introductions. In fact, you go out of your way to avoid eye contact and accidental brushes of the arm which may force conversation to the tune of “oh sorry” “no that’s ok, don’t worry about it” “mumble” “mumble.” I find this strange because, come on, we’re going to be spending 5 hours together in a very enclosed space, we might as well be friends. Despite the absurdity of it, I kind of like it. Although I typically enjoy meeting new people, I don’t particularly enjoy making 5 hours of small talk with someone who’s company I may or may not enjoy. It’s such a crapshoot that I sort of agree with the whole careful dance of non-communication.

The man on my left seemed normal enough and he lived up to his corduroy pants and golf shirt persona. He caused me no grief. The man on my right was another story altogether.

I got stuck beside the gum chomper. In fact, “chomp” doesn’t even begin to describe what this guy did with that gum. It was almost like the scene from a Fish Called Wanda where Otto eats several live fish where this guy’s gum was a fish that just wouldn’t die therefore forcing him to violently chomp down again and again and again…with his mouth open (too graphic? sorry).

At first I wanted to give him the benefit of the doubt. Maybe he just has trouble with his ears popping at take off? But no, the chomping continued well after we reached cruising altitude. In fact, it got worse. He started to test out his bubble blowing skills. HE ACTUALLY BLEW AND POPPED BUBBLES!!! A grown man, a business man, blew and popped bubbles in my ear for an entire 5.5 hour flight!

I don’t care how badly the altitude affects your ears, that is not an appropriate solution. Also, this is an especially inappropriate practice if you’re going to do it while wearing cologne that gives those around you a headache.

But alas, I arrived safe and I got to visit  a friend and watch him play in a jazz concert before the conference begins tomorrow.

In other news, I watched Twilight on the plane. A full review, from a non-twilight hardcore fan is coming. For those that are so sick of hearing of this fricken movie/book franchise, skip that post, I don’t blame you, I probably would too.

4 Responses to “I made it! Phew!”


  1. 1 ehwhatsthis December 8, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    Oh no… really he blew bubbles?? That’s in sane, I can’t even believe that… well I believe you, but it seems too crazy to be true…

  2. 2 Erin December 1, 2009 at 1:32 am

    I’m glad you made it! Really, blowing gum bubbles does not help with the altitude ear issues. Why why why did you pick a middle seat?

    • 3 clairesuzanne December 1, 2009 at 1:48 am

      I didn’t have a choice. Apparently everyone that flys air canada wakes up at 3am to check in online and pick there seat. When I did my web check in a good 3 hours before our flight, there was only 2 seats left and they were both in the middle.

      Hopefully I have better luck on the way home.


  1. 1 The Best of 2009: Blog Find « Down the Rabbit Hole Trackback on December 7, 2009 at 12:07 am
Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


