This time will be different

I don’t travel all that often, but I do enjoy traveling and I always get ridiculously excited for plane rides. Well, I used to get ridiculously excited about plane rides. The past couple rides have been less than exciting.

The first time I flew for work, I flew from Toronto to Comox, BC (which is on Vancouver Island) for a conference. I was pretty excited. I’d never been out west before and I was excited to see the Rockies and tour the area (as was part of the conference) and I was traveling for work! Someone else was paying! Holy-crap-I’m-a-big-girl full of excitement.

That was a year and a half ago and before that, the last time I had flown anywhere was home from India via Paris and I smelled like curry and was hurting real bad for some Tim Hortons hot chocoalte and a chocolate dip donut.

So in my head, this flight out to BC was a hop, skip and a jump away because come-ooon, it wasn’t Paris or India or anything, it’s in the same country for heaven’s sake.

But I was wrong (not about the country part, Vancouver Island is indeed in Canada). I cannot explain my thought processes on this trip because I have taken Canadian geography before and I am fully aware of how large Canada is, I know we are the second largest country in the world. Despite this, I was still SHOCKED to still be in a plane, sitting in the same seat, beside the same person, with the same magazine 5 hours after departing Toronto. Holy crap the length of that flight nearly did me in.

And when I arrived, all I could think was “holy hell, I could have just flown to France.” And that flight probably would have cost less.

All notions of me being a “good traveler” totally flew out the window after that trip.

I was a little more prepared a few months back when I flew to Edmonton, but that trip, because I wasn’t distracted by the long-ass flight, the time change kind of screwed with me.

Well tomorrow is going to be different. Tomorrow I am flying to Vancouver for a conference at a posh hotel and I am ready. I am fully informed about the length of the flight and I am prepared for the time change. Tomorrow, I will travel backwards in time and I am ready.

Wish me luck.

3 Responses to “This time will be different”


  1. 1 Kate Cowan November 30, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    Haha – Good post – I am flying tomorrow too – your trinidad flight in January will be easier (no time change) – Enjoy the west coast and take some pictures! Try skiing (just don’t break your leg).

  2. 3 Erin November 30, 2009 at 1:41 am

    Good luck! Have fun! Bring me with you??


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


