The challenge and the motivator

It’s amazing what sort of things motivate people. I remember when I used to be a Brownie (like Girl Scouts, but Canadian and younger) we used to get gold stars for things like remembering our sash and tying our kerchiefs correctly (left over right and under, right over left and through).

Well, I have a new and improved sort of motivation now. It’s way more advanced than gold stars. And advanced motivation is exactly what I need right now. Strong brewed motivation straight up, no sugar, no cream.

You see, I have entered into a month-long challenge with 2 coworkers. I mostly entered said challenge due to their peer pressure, which would make a grade 11 girl proud. But I also entered because I know it’s good for me.

The challenge: over the next 30 days, we will work out for at least 15 of them. I understand that for some people working out every other day is easy peasy, but for me, a girl whose track record is like 1x a week, it’s kind of a big deal.

In order to keep us motivated we have developed a very advanced system, like I said, more advanced than gold stars.

For every day that we put in a solid work out, we get…

…may I present smiley face motivators.

For each time we work out, we get a smiley face on our calendars.

Yep, that’s the system that 3 successful professional women came up with to keep them motivated. It seems silly, but it works and we work hard for those smiley faces.

2 Responses to “The challenge and the motivator”


  1. 1 Kate Cowan November 22, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    I like your approach – the month of december is always a hard one for me but maybe i will try this system this month too … now where do i buy stickers?

  2. 2 Erin November 20, 2009 at 2:44 am

    I love it! Good luck! My favourite thing in Brownies and Girl Guides was earning badges, can we bring that back too?


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


