Deception Point.

First, I need to start with a confession. Not my confession, but rather a confession on behalf of my boyfriend*. He is a huge Bruce Springsteen fan. Hi dad is a fan, his aunt is a fan, his uncle is a fan, in short, it runs in his family so he can’t be blamed.

For those of you living under a rock who don’t know, Bruce Springsteen, aka: the Boss looks like this

bruce

With this in mind, I purchased general admission floor seats to see Bruce in Detroit for his birthday. The boyfriend’s father and uncle would be joining us.

The first task, keeping it a secret that I bought the tickets. Since I got the tickets in September and the show wasn’t until November, there was a lot of room for error. Although it took a lot of self-discipline, I managed to keep my mouth firmly clamped shut. Typically, when it comes to such birthday surprises, I get so excited that I let hints slip and he eventually figures out exactly what the surprise is ruining it and my mood. But not this time! I win!

Second task, figure out how to get the boyfriend to Detroit (over 3.5 hours away and across an international border) without him realizing that we’re on the way to see The Boss.

The plan, as is any plan involving his family, was convoluted and confusing. It was just the type of plan that has about a million opportunities to go horribly wrong. The story went as such:

On the morning of the 13th, the boyfriend unwrapped a gift containing something he already owned: his rock climbing shoes. With confusion, he looked at me for an explanation and I launched into a well rehearsed speech. We were going rock climbing…in Detroit. Why travel 3.5 hours across an international border, you ask? Because I’ve found this awesome gym that will teach lead rope climbing (where you climb ahead of your rope and clip into your line as you. Go google it for a better explanation) and since our usual climbing buddy, Mike, has been out with a back injury for quite some time, we’re going with your Dad and Uncle (who lives in Detroit).

Shockingly, he bought it. I took a 1/2 off work to drive the 2.5 hours home. We picked up his dad (who played his part swimmingly) and got back in the car for the 1.5 hour trip across the border to his uncles.

The border was a bit nerve-wracking. Unfortunately I have a very guilty conscience (thanks Catholicisms!) and wasn’t exactly comfortable with lying to the border guard. I can’t imagine it makes a difference to Homeland Security if we were going rock climbing or to a rock concert. But the boyfriend’s dad did the actual lying, so I guess I’m off the hook.

Things got dicey at his uncle’s place. The boyfriend picked up a map with directions to the concert. I snatched them out of his hands in time (luckily I’m kind of grabby in real life and this didn’t alert him).

The big reveal came at dinner. Just as soon as he finished ordering a bottle of beer instead of a pint (because he’s going climbing and a pint would be too much). I presented him with one more gift: his old, shabby Bruce Springsteen t-shirt. His eyes lit up as he opened it and he knew right away that it was all a ruse.

The concert was great and he had an awesome time. The best part, in my opinion, is that I actually pulled the wool over his eyes for once. In nearly five years, I’ve never pulled off such an elaborate surprise. Really, I think I’m probably being considered for Ocean’s 14.

*I really need a good pseudonym for him. The Boyfriend is too time consuming to type. His suggestions for his pseudonym are Buddly Salterton or Chesty Alright. Clearly those are going to make the cut. I’m open to suggestions. Stay tuned for the final decision.
4 Responses to “Deception Point.”


  1. 1 Kate Cowan November 17, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    WOW … that is impressive – very interested in hearing my future BiL side of the story at Christmas!

  2. 2 clairesuzanne November 16, 2009 at 2:08 am

    I’m shocked I pulled it off too. It took every ounce of self-dicipline I have (which isn’t a whole lot) not to tell him earlier.

  3. 3 Melanie November 16, 2009 at 12:39 am

    Oh I love this story! Complicated plans are the best! Love when they come together!
    You are totally Ocean’s 14 worthy! Look out George!

  4. 4 Erin November 15, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    I am actually kind of surprised you pulled it off… I figured you’d get too excited and tell him.
    You could call him Mister X, a la Arrested Development.


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


