Please be gentle

I’ve been thinking about creating a blog for about 2 months and finally got around to it about 2 weeks ago. I feel like I’m a little behind on the trend here as I’ve never had a blog and this first post is about as painful as the first day of high school when you get lost because you have gym first period and you’re frantically running around the school looking for the class room only to show up late and realize that shockingly, gym class happens in the GYM. I never did very well in gym class, no one had ever accused me of being athletic.

But back to the pain of this first post: why blog? I feel like “well, everyone’s doing it” is not an appropriate answer. Mainly I want to blog because I like to write. Well, I used to like to write. I have a job which allows me to write, which is great for someone that likes to write. But the truth is, I always find myself doing every other possible work task, including clearing the dust out of my keyboard with that compressed air thing with a religious vigour, before I actually get to the writing portion of my job. I leave all of the writing to the last minute possible. It’s not necessarily because I work better under pressure because I don’t think I do. I think it’s mostly because I have a hard time getting started. Once I have a story started, I can pound out 750 words in an hour, but it usally takes me 3 days to get the first sentence written.

I hope this blog will help with that.

I also hope this blog will give me a chance to practice writing about things that don’t have anything to do with my job. My job gives me an opportunity to write about factual, information driven stories that are often technical and usually boring to the average person. My job does not encourage me to write about the tragedies of Grade 9 gym class or my brother’s cat. And so, I’ve started a blog.* Please be gentle, I’m new.

In other news, I’m still trying to think of a blog name. My little [insert title here] thing is not an attempt at witty humour. When I attempt witty humour, you’ll know.

*Interesting side note: At work, when I talk about blogs, I often have to say “weblog” and explain that they are these new fandangled things on the internets. I work in an awesome industry (no really, I do).

2 Responses to “Please be gentle”


  1. 1 Kate Cowan November 12, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    Little Sister – you beat me to it – I have been thinking of starting a blog for some time now – but still fear that i will not have that much to say – Good for you – i am excited – this makes me feel that much closer even though i do live where the snow never hits. Looking forward to reading more! Cheers Kate

  2. 2 Erin November 10, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    I was going to wait to check it out until after supper, but I got excited and had to look right away!
    Good job, yo! I’m glad you’re now ever closer to my level of internet nerdiness! Welcome to the blogging world… now go join 20-Something Bloggers!


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


