Tentatively optomistic

Unless you’ve been living under a rock or in some beautiful temperate climate like certain family-members of mine (hi sis!) you are probably aware that Spring has sprung.

Just the other day I had to close the blinds at my desk because the sun was streaming in with enough force to blind a small country. It sort of tore my up inside to close those blinds. We’ve been without a shining sun for so long that I was starting to feel like a creature of the night. When that beautiful ball of fire burst through my window so abruptly I was almost worried that I might burst into flames or worse, SPARKLE! But I didn’t.

Although I welcome every ray of sun that comes my way, I’m a little tentative about this whole spring thing. I am so pumped I no longer have to tuck my pants into winter boots and carry my ‘indoor shoes’ in my purse. I am more than excited about waking up to a room full of light and I am thrilled that my car no longer requires a 20 minute de-icing session in the morning.

But, I am tentative. I have lived in Canada far to long to be fooled by this little game. I think we’re all being tricked into a false sense of security by this wonderful weather. I think there is still a bit more snow in those clouds. Not a lot, but enough to rain on our parade, so to speak. I am determined not to be blindsided by the weather this year. My boots are still standing at attention ready to be thrust into action at the first sign of snow. My scraper is poised and ready for use against the harshness of a midnight freeze and my heart is guarded against the warm weather’s attempt to soften us.

Unfortunately, the girl I saw today walking down the street in short booty shorts and flip flops is more easily seduced by mother nature than I am. I’m concerned for her. I hope she survives the shocking revelation that she is living in Canada and it is March. I am also concerned that the bit of her butt that is hanging out of those shorts may get frostbite. I do hope she is ok.

3 Responses to “Tentatively optomistic”


  1. 1 ria March 17, 2010 at 7:35 am

    i’ve been thinking the same thing. it’s going to be 67 and sunny tomorrow and all i can think of is how a huge snow storm is probably only a week away ;)

  2. 2 bevchen March 14, 2010 at 10:34 am

    Spring? Send some of that my way. We had snow again last week :-(

  3. 3 Erin March 11, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    If you were to burst in to flames in the sunlight, or rather, if you were the type to burst in to flames in the sunlight, I have no doubt that we already would have made out.


Comments are currently closed.



Hi There!


I'm Claire. I like to write about ridiculous things.

I love chocolate but don't think cheese and cake belong together.

I often wish it was socially acceptable to wear glitter before 10pm.

If you want to chat, email me at clairesuzanne1 at gmail dot com.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Legal Stuff

Creative Commons License
This work by Claire Suzanne is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.
Based on a work at clairesuzanne.wordpress.com.

© Claire Cowan, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Claire Suzanne with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

